← AiTimeline Home

Technology · Apple Leadership Transition

Apple After Tim Cook Timeline 2026: John Ternus, iPhone 18 & the Foldable iPhone Era

📅 Updated 10 September 2026Tim Cook → John Ternus, effective Sept. 1iPhone Duo unveiled Sept. 9 at “Surprise and shine”
Advertisement

View as Web Story

In short

Track Apple's 2026 CEO transition from Tim Cook to John Ternus, the Sept. 9 event, iPhone 18 and foldable iPhone news, and what's confirmed vs. expected.

Advertisement

Latest Story

Apple’s biggest change this September may happen eight days before a single new iPhone reaches the stage. On September 1, 2026, John Ternus — a hardware engineer who joined Apple in 2001 — will become the company’s chief executive, ending Tim Cook’s 15-year run as CEO. Cook is not leaving Apple; he becomes executive chairman. Eight days later, on September 9, Apple held its first product event of the Ternus era — and confirmed the folding iPhone everyone had been talking about. It is called the iPhone Duo, and it goes on sale October 23.

Apple After Tim Cook Timeline 2026: John Ternus, iPhone 18 & the Foldable iPhone Era
Advertisement

Latest Update — September 2026

🟢 Apple confirmed — from the Sept. 9 keynote and Apple’s official pricing/availability pages.

At the September 9 event, Apple confirmed its first foldable iPhone, named the iPhone Duo, alongside the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max, AirPods 5, Apple Watch Series 12 and Apple Watch Ultra 4. The Duo opens book-style from a 5.4-inch outer display into a 7.6-inch nano-texture inner display, uses Touch ID instead of Face ID, and runs the new A20 Pro chip with vapor-chamber cooling. Pricing starts at $1,999 for 256GB and runs to $3,199 for 2TB, in Night Sky and Star White finishes. Pre-orders open October 16, with sales starting October 23 in more than 70 countries. Apple did not announce a standard iPhone 18 at this event, consistent with prior reporting that it is being held back to spring 2027. Apple also confirmed iOS 27 arrives September 14, 2026.

Advertisement
⚠️ How to read the labels on this page: 🟢 Apple confirmed means Apple itself has said it. 🟡 Credible reporting means multiple reliable outlets agree but Apple hasn’t confirmed it. 🔴 Rumor/unverified means a single-source or unconfirmed claim. ⚪ Future watchpoint means something to track, not something that has happened. This article updates as Apple confirms or rules out each item — nothing here that is labeled expected or rumored should be read as official.

🧠 AI Overview Summary

Tim Cook’s 15-year run as Apple CEO ends September 1, 2026, when John Ternus, Apple’s longtime hardware engineering chief, takes over; Cook becomes executive chairman. Apple announced the succession on April 20, 2026. Eight days after the handover, on September 9, Apple held “Surprise and shine,” its first product event of the Ternus era, confirming Apple’s first foldable iPhone, the iPhone Duo, alongside the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max. The Duo starts at $1,999 and ships October 23.

📱 Apple’s 2026 Transition — Current Status (as of 10 September 2026)
🟢 Tim Cook
CEO through Aug. 31
🟢 John Ternus
Becomes CEO Sept. 1
🟢 Executive Chairman
Cook’s next role
🟢 Sept. 9, 10am PT
Apple Event
🟢 10:30pm IST
India time
🟢 “Surprise and shine”
Event tagline
🟢 Launched
iPhone 18 Pro / Pro Max
🟢 iPhone Duo
Apple’s first foldable iPhone
🟢 $1,999–$3,199
iPhone Duo price (256GB–2TB)
🟡 Reported
Standard iPhone 18 in 2027
🟢 Confirmed
iOS 27 (fall 2026)
🟢 Sept. 14, 2026
iOS 27 release date
Countdown: — to the CEO transition · — to the Sept. 9 event.

Apple is changing CEOs for the first time in 15 years

🟢 Apple confirmed — announced 20 April 2026, effective 1 September 2026.

Apple’s board of directors unanimously approved a succession plan under which Tim Cook steps down as chief executive to become executive chairman, while John Ternus, senior vice president of Hardware Engineering, becomes Apple’s next CEO, effective September 1, 2026. Cook became CEO in August 2011, succeeding Steve Jobs; his departure from the role after roughly 15 years is Apple’s first CEO change since then. Ternus joins Apple’s board of directors on the same date. Arthur Levinson, who has chaired Apple’s board for 15 years, becomes lead independent director. Johny Srouji, previously SVP of Hardware Technologies, becomes chief hardware officer, taking over Ternus’s former hardware-engineering responsibilities.

Apple has described this as long-term succession planning, not a sudden departure, a boardroom dispute, or a resignation under pressure. Tim Cook is not leaving Apple. As executive chairman, he continues to assist the company in select areas, including engagement with policymakers around the world.

Tim Cook vs. John Ternus — documented backgrounds, not a personality contest

Tim Cook
CEO, Aug. 2011 – Aug. 2026
OperationsSupply chain & management background
vs
John Ternus
CEO from Sept. 1, 2026
Hardware Eng.Product design & engineering background
Joined Apple 1998, from CompaqPath to CEOJoined Apple 2001, from Virtual Research Systems
COO from 2005Prior titleSVP Hardware Engineering from 2021
~15 years as CEOTenure in roleBegins Sept. 1, 2026

Apple has not said Ternus will run the company differently than Cook did, and this article does not speculate about that. What is documented is background: Cook built his Apple career in operations and supply-chain management; Ternus built his in product design and hardware engineering, working on the iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, AirPods and Vision Pro over roughly 25 years at the company. That is why a hardware engineer taking over is being watched closely ahead of a product event where Apple is expected to test a new iPhone form factor — not because Ternus has said hardware will define his tenure.

Who is John Ternus?

🟢 Confirmed — from Apple’s own succession announcement and biography.

Advertisement

Joins Apple’s product design organization

Ternus joins Apple after working as a mechanical engineer at Virtual Research Systems. He holds a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Pennsylvania.

Becomes vice president of Hardware Engineering

Over the next decade he oversees engineering work spanning iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, AirPods and, later, Apple Vision Pro.

Joins Apple’s executive team as SVP, Hardware Engineering

Ternus becomes one of Apple’s small group of direct reports to the CEO, with hardware engineering across the entire product line under him.

Named Apple’s next CEO

Apple’s board unanimously approves the succession plan; Ternus is named CEO effective September 1, 2026, with Cook moving to executive chairman.

Sept 1 2026

CEO transition becomes effective

Ternus formally becomes CEO and joins Apple’s board of directors.

Sept 9 2026

First major product event of his CEO era

Apple holds “Surprise and shine” at the Steve Jobs Theater, unveiling the iPhone Duo, iPhone 18 Pro/Pro Max, AirPods 5, Apple Watch Series 12 and Apple Watch Ultra 4.

iPhone Duo goes on sale

Pre-orders open October 16; the iPhone Duo ships October 23 in more than 70 countries and regions.

Advertisement

Apple’s own framing of the appointment, from Tim Cook: Ternus has “the mind of an engineer, the soul of an innovator, and the heart to lead with integrity,” and is, in Cook’s words, the right person to lead Apple into the future. Ternus, in turn, said he is grateful for the opportunity to carry Apple’s mission forward and committed to leading with the values that have defined the company. This article does not extend those statements into predictions about strategy Apple hasn’t announced.

⚠️ Not “the foldable CEO”

It’s tempting to brand Ternus around one rumored launch. Resist it. His actual in-tray includes hardware, AI and Siri, services growth, supply-chain diversification (including manufacturing outside China), regulatory pressure in multiple markets, and the developer ecosystem — not just what shape the next iPhone is.

What Tim Cook leaves behind

🟢 Confirmed — figures from Apple’s own succession statement and public filings.

MetricWhen Cook became CEO (2011)At the April 2026 succession announcement
Market capitalization≈$350 billion≈$4 trillion
Annual revenue$108 billion (FY2011)>$416 billion (FY2025)
Active installed device base—>2.5 billion devices
Services businessSmall>$100 billion annual business
Workforce—100,000+ jobs added under Cook
New product categories launched—Apple Watch, AirPods, Apple Vision Pro; Apple Silicon transition

This is what Ternus inherits: scale. Not one spectacular product, but more devices, more countries, more services revenue, more custom silicon, spread across a company built by 15 years of steady expansion. This article keeps Cook’s biography to that inheritance — the intent here is Apple after Tim Cook, not a full account of his career.

September 9: “Surprise and shine”

🟢 Confirmed date, time, venue and tagline — announced by Apple on August 26, 2026.

⚡ Sept. 9 Event — Confirmed Details
Date & timeWednesday, Sept. 9, 2026, 10:00am PT
India time10:30pm IST
VenueSteve Jobs Theater, Apple Park, Cupertino
Tagline“Surprise and shine”
Livestreamapple.com, Apple TV app, YouTube
SignificanceFirst major event under CEO John Ternus

At the keynote, Apple confirmed the iPhone Duo, iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max, AirPods 5, Apple Watch Series 12 and Apple Watch Ultra 4. Before the event, Apple’s invitation had confirmed only the date, time, venue and tagline — reporters had read the invite’s bright-flare graphic and blue coloring as hints toward camera or color changes, which turned out to be interpretation rather than an Apple statement.

John Ternus opened and led his first keynote as CEO, framing the iPhone as, in his words, the best personal device for AI given its existing privacy protections.

📚 Key Takeaways

What’s confirmed, what’s expected, what’s still rumor

  • The CEO change is real and dated. Cook becomes executive chairman and Ternus becomes CEO on September 1, 2026 — announced April 20, approved unanimously by Apple’s board.
  • Tim Cook is not leaving Apple. He stays on the board as executive chairman and continues assisting with policy engagement.
  • The Sept. 9 event is confirmed — date, time, venue and tagline. The product lineup is not.
  • Apple’s first foldable iPhone is now official. Named the iPhone Duo, announced Sept. 9, priced from $1,999, shipping October 23.
  • The name is “iPhone Duo,” not “iPhone Ultra.” The widely rumored “iPhone Ultra” branding did not happen.
  • iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max are now shipping, both built on Apple’s A20 Pro chip.
  • Apple never announced a September release for the standard iPhone 18, and none arrived at this event — consistent with reports that it may arrive in spring 2027 instead.
  • iOS 27, iPadOS 27, macOS 27 “Golden Gate,” watchOS 27, visionOS 27 and tvOS 27 all ship September 14, 2026, Apple confirmed at the event — developer betas began June 8 at WWDC26.
  • Siri AI, Apple’s rebuilt assistant, is a confirmed 2026 software direction, expected to reach beta later this year, first in English, and delayed in the EU under the Digital Markets Act.
  • Every rumor on this page gets checked against Apple’s actual Sept. 9 announcements and corrected afterward — that update is the point of tracking this page, not a one-time snapshot.
⚡ Quick Answers — AI Overview Ready

Apple after Tim Cook: key questions

Is Tim Cook leaving Apple?
No. Cook is stepping down as CEO on September 1, 2026, and becoming executive chairman of Apple’s board. Apple says he will continue assisting the company in select areas, including policy engagement, so he remains involved rather than departing.
Who is replacing Tim Cook as Apple CEO?
John Ternus, Apple’s longtime SVP of Hardware Engineering, becomes CEO effective September 1, 2026. Apple’s board unanimously approved the succession on April 20, 2026, after a long-term planning process.
Did Apple launch a foldable iPhone on September 9?
Yes. Apple confirmed its first foldable iPhone, the iPhone Duo, at the September 9 event. It opens book-style into a 7.6-inch inner display, starts at $1,999, and goes on sale October 23.
Is the foldable iPhone called “iPhone Ultra”?
No. Apple named it the iPhone Duo. “iPhone Ultra” and “iPhone Fold” were both pre-event rumored names that did not turn out to be official.
Advertisement

Apple’s foldable iPhone: the iPhone Duo

🟢 Apple-confirmed — announced at the September 9 event.

Apple confirmed its first foldable smartphone, the iPhone Duo, at the September 9 event — a category Apple had never shipped, though competitors had sold folding phones for several years. It opens book-style from a 5.4-inch outer display into a 7.6-inch nano-texture inner display, uses Touch ID instead of Face ID, and runs Apple’s A20 Pro chip with vapor-chamber cooling and a dual-battery system across both halves of the phone.

🟢 What’s confirmed

  • Named the iPhone Duo, not “iPhone Ultra” or “iPhone Fold”
  • Book-style design: 5.4-inch outer display, 7.6-inch inner nano-texture OLED
  • Touch ID replaces Face ID on this model
  • A20 Pro chip with vapor-chamber cooling; Apple has not disclosed battery capacity, quoting 31 hours video on the inner display and 44 hours on the outer
  • Priced $1,999 (256GB) to $3,199 (2TB); Night Sky and Star White finishes
  • Pre-orders open October 16; on sale October 23 in 70+ countries

🔴 Not disclosed by Apple

  • Exact battery capacity in mAh
  • Durability/hinge cycle rating
  • Long-term sales or demand figures — too early, event was Sept. 9

The iPhone Duo’s significance is less “Apple invents foldables” and more Apple bringing its hardware, software, custom silicon and developer ecosystem into a category that already existed. It is a new category for Apple, not a new category for the smartphone industry.

🟢 About the name “iPhone Duo”

Pre-event reporting had speculated about “iPhone Ultra” or “iPhone Fold” as the branding. Apple’s actual choice, announced at the keynote, is iPhone Duo. This article uses the official name throughout.

MakerStatusWhat we can say today
Apple🟢 Shipping Oct. 23iPhone Duo: book-style, 7.6-inch inner display, Touch ID, from $1,999
Samsung🟢 AvailableCurrent-generation Galaxy Z Fold already on sale; established multi-year line
Google🟢 AvailableCurrent-generation Pixel Fold already on sale
Motorola🟢 AvailableFlip-style Razr line already on sale — different form factor to Apple’s book-style Duo

Apple September 2026: confirmed vs. expected

The single reference table for this page. Updated as each item is confirmed, ruled out or corrected.

ItemStatusWhat we actually know
Sept. 9 Apple event🟢 Confirmed10am PT / 10:30pm IST, Steve Jobs Theater
John Ternus as CEO🟢 ConfirmedEffective Sept. 1, 2026
Tim Cook as executive chairman🟢 ConfirmedEffective Sept. 1, 2026
iPhone 18 Pro🟢 LaunchedA20 Pro chip (2nm), variable-aperture camera; shipping
iPhone 18 Pro Max🟢 LaunchedA20 Pro chip (2nm), variable-aperture camera; shipping
iPhone Duo (foldable)🟢 ConfirmedBook-style, 7.6-inch inner display, from $1,999, ships Oct. 23
“iPhone Duo” name🟢 ConfirmedOfficial name; “iPhone Ultra” and “iPhone Fold” rumors did not materialize
Variable/mechanical camera aperture🟢 ConfirmedIncluded on iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max
New light-blue color option🔴 UnverifiedNot independently confirmed in this update
Standard iPhone 18🟡 Reported for 2027Not part of the Sept. 9 lineup; 2027 timing still unconfirmed by Apple
iPhone 18e🟡 Reported for 2027Unconfirmed future product
Next iPhone Air🟡 Reported for 2027Unconfirmed future timing
iOS 27🟢 ConfirmedShips September 14, 2026
macOS 27 “Golden Gate”🟢 ConfirmedComing this fall; exact date not announced

iPhone 18 Pro: what Apple confirmed

🟢 Confirmed at the Sept. 9 keynote.

🟢 Confirmed iPhone 18 Pro features

  • A20 Pro chip, built on a 2nm process
  • Variable-aperture rear camera
  • Otherwise broadly similar to the iPhone 17 Pro generation

These are Apple’s own keynote announcements, not pre-event reporting. Pre-event rumors about a smaller Dynamic Island cutout, updated modem/connectivity hardware and a light-blue color option were not independently confirmed in this update and are left off this list until verified.

Why was there no standard iPhone 18 this September?

🟢 Confirmed absence from the Sept. 9 lineup; 2027 timing still reported, not confirmed.

Apple’s September 9 lineup was the iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone 18 Pro Max and iPhone Duo — no standard iPhone 18 was announced. This matches prior reporting, including supply-chain accounts pointing to assembly partner Pegatron, that Apple would split its iPhone 18 lineup: premium Pro and Pro Max models plus the Duo in fall 2026, with the more affordable standard iPhone 18, a new iPhone 18e, and a second-generation iPhone Air reported for spring 2027. Reported drivers include tight memory-chip and custom-silicon supply being directed toward higher-margin Pro models first, and a desire to compete with Chinese phone makers who typically launch flagships earlier in the calendar year.

Wording matters here. Apple never announced a September 2026 release date for the standard iPhone 18, so describing it as officially delayed is misleading — you cannot delay a date that was never announced. The accurate framing: reports suggest the standard iPhone 18 will launch in 2027 rather than alongside the Pro models and Duo this September, reflecting a reportedly changed release cadence, not a confirmed schedule slip.

iOS 27 ships September 14, 2026

🟢 Confirmed at the Sept. 9 keynote.

SoftwareStatusAvailability
iOS 27🟢 ConfirmedSeptember 14, 2026; developer betas from June 8
iPadOS 27🟢 ConfirmedSeptember 14, 2026
macOS 27 “Golden Gate”🟢 ConfirmedFall 2026; exact date not separately announced
watchOS 27🟢 ConfirmedFall 2026; exact date not separately announced
visionOS 27🟢 ConfirmedFall 2026; exact date not separately announced
tvOS 27🟢 ConfirmedFall 2026; exact date not separately announced

Apple officially previewed all six operating systems at WWDC26, alongside the next generation of Apple Intelligence and a rebuilt Siri AI — a new assistant architecture combining personal context, on-screen awareness, app actions, web information, on-device intelligence and Private Cloud Compute. Siri AI is expected to reach beta later in 2026, in English first, and Apple has said it will not be available on iPhone or iPad in the European Union at iOS 27/iPadOS 27 launch, citing requirements under the EU’s Digital Markets Act. At the September 9 keynote, Apple confirmed iOS 27 and iPadOS 27 ship September 14, 2026; the other four platforms remain dated only to “this fall.”

Ternus inherits more than an iPhone launch

The real post-Cook question, stated plainly: can a hardware engineer lead Apple through an era increasingly defined by AI?

Hardware

Foldables & the iPhone

Whether a new form factor can create the kind of upgrade cycle the iPhone has relied on for nearly two decades.

AI

Siri & Apple Intelligence

Whether Apple can make its rebuilt Siri genuinely competitive with rival AI assistants, on Apple’s timeline and privacy terms.

Business

Services & regulation

Keeping services growth going under regulatory pressure in the EU, US, India and elsewhere.

Supply chain

Manufacturing geography

Continuing to diversify iPhone assembly and component sourcing beyond China, including expansion in India.

A folding phone would make a dramatic first keynote image. The harder parts of Ternus’s job play out over years, not one September morning: can Siri become genuinely competitive, can Apple keep growing outside China without losing its manufacturing advantage, can services keep growing under regulatory pressure, and can hardware still create the kind of upgrade cycle that made the iPhone central to Apple’s business. Those questions will define the new CEO far more than a single keynote.

Apple’s succession, in context

Editorial shorthand, not an objective ranking of eras.

2011: Steve Jobs → Tim Cook
▼
2011–2026: Cook era — scale, services, Apple Silicon, Watch, AirPods, Vision Pro
▼
Apr 20, 2026: Apple names Ternus as successor
▼
Jun 8, 2026: WWDC26 — iOS 27 and Siri AI previewed
▼
Aug 12, 2026: Reports intensify of a split iPhone 18 launch cycle
▼
Aug 26, 2026: “Surprise and shine” event announced for Sept. 9
▼
Aug 31, 2026: Cook’s final day as CEO (this update)
▼
Sept 1, 2026: Ternus becomes CEO — upcoming
▼
Sept 9, 2026: First major product event of the Ternus era — upcoming
This page will update in place after September 1 and again after September 9 — watch this space rather than a new article.

2027 and beyond: watchpoints, not predictions

⚪ Future watchpoints.

⚪ What to watch

  • Whether Apple actually ships a standard iPhone 18, 18e and second-generation iPhone Air in spring 2027 as reported
  • Whether a foldable iPhone (if launched) becomes a mainstream Apple product line or stays a premium niche
  • How Siri AI evolves once it exits beta, and whether the EU delay resolves
  • Whether Ternus launches any wholly new product category
  • How Apple’s manufacturing footprint continues shifting beyond China, including in India

Ternus has not been CEO for even one day as of this update. Declaring his “era” already defined by foldables, or anything else, gets ahead of the facts. The story is only beginning.

🔍 How AiTimeline covers Apple rumors

Confirmed: Apple directly announced it. Reported/expected: multiple high-quality sources agree, but Apple hasn’t confirmed it. Rumor: a single-source or unverified claim. We don’t assign fake confidence percentages to rumors — only relative terms like “strongly expected” or “low-confidence.” After the September 9 keynote, every prediction on this page is checked against what Apple actually announced and corrected, with a note where we got something wrong.

ClaimReal or rumor?
“The Apple event is Sept. 9.”🟢 Real
“John Ternus becomes CEO Sept. 1.”🟢 Real
“Apple confirmed the name iPhone Ultra.”🔴 No
“A foldable iPhone is expected.”🟡 Reported
“iOS 27 launches on Sept. 9.”🔴 Not confirmed
“The standard iPhone 18 may launch in 2027.”🟡 Reported
Advertisement

Explore More Timelines

People also ask

Will Tim Cook still work at Apple after September 1?
Yes. He becomes executive chairman of Apple’s board of directors and, per Apple’s own statement, continues assisting the company in select areas, including engagement with policymakers. He is not retiring from Apple entirely.
Has Apple ever changed CEOs before?
Yes, most recently in 2011 when Steve Jobs stepped down and Tim Cook became CEO. The Cook-to-Ternus transition is Apple’s first CEO change since then — its second in the company’s modern history.
Who replaces John Ternus as head of Hardware Engineering?
Johny Srouji, previously SVP of Hardware Technologies, becomes chief hardware officer and takes on Ternus’s former hardware-engineering responsibilities alongside his existing silicon role.
Where can I watch the Apple September 9 event live?
Apple is streaming it live on apple.com, in the Apple TV app, and on YouTube, starting 10am PT / 10:30pm IST on September 9, 2026.
Is Tim Cook attending the September 9 event?
Apple has not said. This article does not assume his presence or role at the keynote since it hasn’t been announced.

Frequently asked questions

Is Tim Cook leaving Apple?
No. Tim Cook is stepping down as CEO on September 1, 2026, and becoming executive chairman of Apple’s board of directors. Apple says he will continue to assist the company in select areas, including policy engagement, so he remains involved with the company rather than departing.
When does Tim Cook stop being Apple’s CEO?
September 1, 2026 is the effective transition date announced by Apple on April 20, 2026, following unanimous board approval of the succession plan.
Who is Apple’s new CEO?
John Ternus, Apple’s senior vice president of Hardware Engineering since 2021, becomes Apple’s next chief executive officer effective September 1, 2026, and joins the company’s board of directors on the same date.
Who is John Ternus?
John Ternus joined Apple’s product design organization in 2001, became vice president of Hardware Engineering in 2013, and joined Apple’s executive team as SVP of Hardware Engineering in 2021. He holds a mechanical engineering degree from the University of Pennsylvania and has overseen engineering across iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, AirPods and Vision Pro.
How long was Tim Cook Apple’s CEO?
Approximately 15 years, from August 2011, when he succeeded Steve Jobs, until August 31, 2026, the day before John Ternus’s tenure formally begins.
Is John Ternus an engineer?
Yes. He is a mechanical engineer by training and spent roughly 25 years in Apple’s hardware engineering organization before becoming CEO, unlike Cook, whose background was in operations and supply-chain management.
When is the Apple September 2026 event?
September 9, 2026, at 10:00am Pacific Time (10:30pm India Standard Time), at the Steve Jobs Theater on the Apple Park campus in Cupertino.
What is “Surprise and shine”?
It is Apple’s official tagline for its September 9, 2026 special event, announced August 26, 2026. Apple’s invitation confirms the date, time and tagline, but not any specific product.
Did Apple launch the iPhone 18 on September 9?
Apple launched the iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max on September 9, alongside the iPhone Duo. The standard iPhone 18 did not appear at this event and is reported for spring 2027.
Is the iPhone 18 Pro confirmed?
Yes. Apple announced the iPhone 18 Pro at the September 9 keynote, with an A20 Pro chip (2nm) and a variable-aperture rear camera.
Did Apple launch a foldable iPhone?
Yes. Apple confirmed the iPhone Duo, its first foldable iPhone, at the September 9 event. It opens book-style into a 7.6-inch inner display, starts at $1,999, and ships October 23.
Is the foldable called iPhone Ultra?
No. Apple named it the iPhone Duo. “iPhone Ultra” and “iPhone Fold” were pre-event rumored names that were not used.
What is the “iPhone Duo”?
The iPhone Duo is Apple’s first foldable iPhone, announced September 9, 2026. It opens book-style from a 5.4-inch outer display into a 7.6-inch inner display, uses Touch ID instead of Face ID, and starts at $1,999.
Is there an iPhone Fold?
No. Apple’s foldable iPhone is officially named the iPhone Duo. “iPhone Fold” and “iPhone Ultra” were pre-event working names that Apple did not use.
Is the standard iPhone 18 delayed?
Apple never publicly announced a September 2026 release date for the standard iPhone 18, so calling it officially delayed is misleading. Apple’s September 9 lineup was the iPhone 18 Pro, Pro Max and iPhone Duo; reports suggest the standard iPhone 18 will launch in 2027 instead.
When is the iPhone 18 coming out?
The iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max launched September 9, 2026, alongside the iPhone Duo. The standard iPhone 18, an iPhone 18e, and a next-generation iPhone Air are reported for spring 2027 instead, though Apple has not confirmed that timeline.
What is iOS 27?
iOS 27 is Apple’s next major iPhone software update, officially previewed at WWDC26 alongside a rebuilt Siri AI assistant and the next generation of Apple Intelligence. Developer betas began June 8, 2026, and Apple confirmed the release date at the September 9 event.
When will iOS 27 release?
Apple confirmed at the September 9 event that iOS 27 and iPadOS 27 release September 14, 2026. The other iOS 27-generation platforms remain dated only to “this fall.”
What is macOS Golden Gate?
macOS 27 “Golden Gate” is Apple’s next major Mac operating system, officially previewed at WWDC26 alongside iOS 27. It is confirmed for release this fall.
Is macOS Golden Gate official?
Yes, the name and preview are confirmed by Apple. Its exact public release date has not been announced.
Did John Ternus present the iPhone 18 himself?
Yes. Ternus opened and led the September 9 keynote as his first as CEO, presenting the iPhone Duo, iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max, and framing the iPhone as, in his words, the best personal device for AI.
Why did Apple choose John Ternus as CEO?
Apple’s board cited a long-term succession planning process. Tim Cook described Ternus as having “the mind of an engineer, the soul of an innovator, and the heart to lead with integrity,” pointing to his roughly 25-year hardware-engineering background as central to the choice.
What challenges does John Ternus face as CEO?
Analysts point to AI competitiveness (especially Siri), hardware differentiation including a possible foldable iPhone, services growth under regulatory pressure, supply-chain diversification beyond China, and the developer ecosystem as his key early challenges.
Did Apple confirm a new Apple Watch or AirPods for September 9?
Yes. Apple announced AirPods 5, Apple Watch Series 12 and Apple Watch Ultra 4 at the September 9 event, alongside the iPhone Duo and iPhone 18 Pro/Pro Max.
Is Arthur Levinson still Apple’s board chairman?
His role changes, not his board seat. Levinson, Apple’s non-executive chairman for 15 years, becomes lead independent director effective September 1, 2026, as Tim Cook moves into the newly created executive chairman role.
Who is Apple’s new chief hardware officer?
Johny Srouji, previously senior vice president of Hardware Technologies, becomes chief hardware officer, taking over the hardware-engineering responsibilities John Ternus held before becoming CEO.
What is Siri AI?
Siri AI is Apple’s rebuilt assistant architecture, officially previewed at WWDC26, combining personal context, on-screen awareness, app actions, web information, on-device intelligence and Private Cloud Compute. It is expected to reach beta later in 2026, in English first.
Why is Siri AI delayed in the European Union?
Apple has said Siri AI will not be available on iPhone or iPad in the EU when iOS 27 and iPadOS 27 launch, citing requirements under the EU’s Digital Markets Act.
How big is Apple’s active device base?
Apple said its active installed base exceeded 2.5 billion devices as of its April 2026 succession announcement, up from a much smaller base when Tim Cook became CEO in 2011.
How much is Apple’s services business worth?
Apple’s services division is described as a business generating more than $100 billion annually, as of the April 2026 succession announcement.
Will Apple call its September 9 event the most important in its history?
Not officially, and this article avoids that framing too. It is more accurately described as one of Apple’s most closely watched September events in years, because it combines a CEO transition, potential foldable hardware, and a changed iPhone release strategy.
Did Apple confirm mechanical aperture cameras for iPhone 18 Pro Max?
No. A variable or mechanical aperture camera system is reported by some outlets, with some reports specifying it may be limited to the Pro Max model, but Apple has not confirmed this feature.
Is the light-blue or “Sky Blue” iPhone color confirmed?
No. Speculation about a new light-blue color option is partly inspired by the blue coloring in Apple’s event invitation graphic, but Apple has not confirmed any 2026 color lineup.
What happens to Apple’s board after September 1?
John Ternus joins the board as CEO, Arthur Levinson shifts from non-executive chairman to lead independent director, and Tim Cook joins in the newly created role of executive chairman — all effective September 1, 2026.

⚠️ Editorial note

This page separates three tiers of information: Apple’s own statements (confirmed), reporting from Reuters, CNBC, Bloomberg, Axios and similar outlets (reported/expected), and single-source or unverified claims from rumor-tracking sites (rumor). It updates after September 1 (CEO transition) and again after September 9 (event outcomes) rather than being republished as a new article. Content is editorial and AI-assisted, compiled from publicly available sources; information may contain inaccuracies and nothing here is investment advice.

Advertisement
Global Coral Reef Collapse Timeline 1980–2030: Bleaching, Heatwaves & the Shrinking Recovery Window Google Maps Lake America Timeline 2025–2026: Why Lake Ontario Has Different Names in the U.S. and Canada
→
Next Article