← AiTimeline Home

Politics · Justice · 1984–2026

1984 Anti-Sikh Riots: A Timeline of Justice, Accountability and Legacy

📅 Updated 21 October 2026📖 21 milestones⚖️ 3,325 dead (official)
Advertisement

View as Web Story

In short

1984 anti-Sikh riots timeline: 3,325 dead (official), Nanavati report, convictions, Sajjan Kumar's death and 2026 court rulings, with cases still open.

Advertisement

Latest Story

The 1984 anti-Sikh riots followed Prime Minister Indira Gandhi’s assassination on 31 October 1984, when Sikhs were killed and their homes, shops and gurdwaras attacked, above all in Delhi. This timeline runs newest first and separates commission findings, prosecution allegations and what courts have decided, because outcomes differ from case to case and some cases remain open.

Advertisement
Advertisement

💡 Short Answer

After Indira Gandhi was assassinated on 31 October 1984, attacks on Sikhs killed 3,325 people across India, 2,733 of them in Delhi, according to the Home Ministry. Commissions in 1986 and 2005, reinvestigations and trials followed. Convictions came decades later: Sajjan Kumar was convicted in 2018 and 2025, acquitted in January 2026 and died on 20 August 2026; Jagdish Tytler faces a trial.

⚡ 1984 Anti-Sikh Riots Quick Facts
Trigger31 Oct 1984
Official toll3,325 (2,733 Delhi)
Convictions28, 13 for murder
Inquiry panels14
Apology11 Aug 2005
Latest ruling1 Sep 2026
⚡ Quick Answers — AI Overview Ready

1984 Anti-Sikh Riots: Key Questions

How many were killed?
The Home Ministry cites 3,325 deaths across India, including 2,733 in Delhi, based on the Ahooja Committee. Sikh organisations put the Delhi toll above 3,000, so counts vary by source.
What did the Nanavati Commission find?
Its 9 February 2005 report cited credible material that Sajjan Kumar was probably involved and recommended re-examining cases that were closed untraced. A commission’s finding is not a conviction.
Who has been convicted?
Sajjan Kumar was convicted in December 2018 and February 2025, and Yashpal Singh was sentenced to death in November 2018. The Indian Express counted 28 convictions, 13 for murder, by late 2025.
What happened in 2026?
Kumar was acquitted in a separate case on 22 January, died on 20 August, and the High Court closed his appeal on 25 August. A court set aside a 2017 FIR order on 1 September.
📚 Key Takeaways

The 1984 Cases in Ten Points

  • Trigger: Indira Gandhi was assassinated on 31 October 1984; violence began that evening.
  • Toll: 3,325 killed nationwide, 2,733 in Delhi, per the Home Ministry.
  • Commissions: Misra (reported Aug 1986) and Nanavati (reported 9 Feb 2005) led a total of 14 panels.
  • Apology: Manmohan Singh apologised in Parliament on 11 August 2005.
  • Relief: Rs 714.76 crore package in 2006; Rs 5 lakh more per death in December 2014.
  • Reinvestigation: the 2015 SIT filed chargesheets in five cases; the Dhingra SIT reviewed 186.
  • First death sentence: Yashpal Singh, November 2018.
  • Kumar: convicted 2018 and 2025, acquitted January 2026, died 20 August 2026.
  • Tytler: charges framed 13 September 2024; he pleaded not guilty; trial ongoing.
  • Delay: a September 2026 court said revived investigations need fresh, credible evidence.

1984 Anti-Sikh Riots Timeline, Latest First

Each entry is tagged by theme and ends with why it matters. Use the filter to isolate a theme.

🎯 Interactive: Filter the Timeline

Courts, commissions or the violence itself? Filter the 1984 anti-Sikh riots timeline by theme.

–

Advertisement

Status check: what is still open after Kumar’s death Courts & verdicts

As of 21 Oct 2026Tytler trial: last hearing found 1 Jul 2026Kumar’s 2018 appeal pending at deathSultanpuri acquittal appeal

Several matters were reported open at the latest check. The CBI trial of Jagdish Tytler over the Pul Bangash Gurdwara killings was still at the witness stage: on 1 July 2026 Special Judge Jitendra Singh adjourned it to 15 July because a prosecution witness could not be examined (ETV Bharat). No later hearing or verdict was found. The Hindustan Times reported on 26 August 2026 that an appeal by the CBI and a relative of a deceased man against Sajjan Kumar’s September 2023 acquittal in a Sultanpuri murder case was still awaiting completion of pleadings before the Delhi High Court Registrar, with no next date. The Indian Express reported in late 2025 that appeals by two convicts in a Mahipalpur case, one sentenced to death and one to life, were pending in the High Court. Kumar’s Supreme Court appeal against his 2018 conviction was reported pending when he died (India TV); no report on how the court treated it afterwards was found. Readers should check the court records before relying on any status here.

Why it matters: Decades on, several 1984 cases are still moving through courts, and a death can end an appeal without answering what happened.
1 Sep
2026

Court sets aside a 2017 order to register an FIR into two 1984 deaths Courts & verdicts

Reported 1 Sep 2026 (Times of India)Special Judge Bhupinder SinghMagisterial order of Jan 2017 set asideComplaint filed in 2005

A Delhi special judge set aside a January 2017 magisterial order that had directed police to register an FIR into the deaths of Amir Singh and Narender Singh. The complaint by a riot survivor, filed in 2005, alleged police inaction and the wrongful arrest of family members and sought action against two senior police officers of the time. The court said the case suffered from extraordinary delay, that there was no credible contemporaneous proof the complaint had been pursued, and that earlier inquiries had found no reliable material of misconduct by the officers. It noted that in 1987 the family had attributed the deaths to mob violence. The judge said: “Every proceeding must, at some point, reach finality.” The ruling covers this one complaint only.

Why it matters: The decision shows how delay, missing records and the absence of fresh evidence can close a door that survivors spent decades trying to open.
25 Aug
2026

High Court closes Sajjan Kumar’s appeal in the Saraswati Vihar murder case Courts & verdicts

Tuesday 25 Aug 2026Justices Prathiba M. Singh and Vikas MahajanAppeal filed Oct 2025Appeal abated

A Delhi High Court bench told by an SIT sub-inspector that Kumar had died held that his appeal against the February 2025 conviction for the murders of Jaswant Singh and Tarundeep Singh had abated. An abatement ends the appeal because the appellant has died; it does not decide whether the conviction was right. The Hindustan Times, which reported the order on 26 August, said the trial court had called the Delhi Police’s acceptance of an “untrace report” in 1994 a “grave failure of justice”.

Why it matters: A procedural order closed one appeal; it did not settle the other cases linked to his name.
20 Aug
2026

Sajjan Kumar dies at Safdarjung Hospital while serving a life term Courts & verdicts

Thursday 20 Aug 2026Safdarjung Hospital, DelhiReported age 80 (Kashmir Observer says 84)Cause not disclosed

Former Congress MP Sajjan Kumar died on 20 August 2026 while serving life sentences linked to the 1984 violence. Hospital authorities did not disclose the cause; reports mentioned high blood pressure and Parkinson’s disease. He died on the day the Supreme Court was to hear his plea for three weeks’ parole to tend to his ailing wife; the plea did not come up. His Supreme Court appeal against the 2018 conviction, filed in December 2018, was reported pending at his death. He had been convicted by the Delhi High Court in December 2018 over the killing of five Sikhs in Raj Nagar, Palam Colony, and by a trial court in February 2025 over the Saraswati Vihar murders; the Indian Express also recalled that the Nanavati Commission had said there was “credible material” that he was “probably involved”. A commission’s view and a court’s verdict are different things.

Why it matters: His death ended some proceedings and left survivors with no further chance to see him tested in the cases that remain.
22 Jan
2026

Kumar acquitted in the Janakpuri and Vikaspuri case Courts & verdicts

Thursday 22 Jan 2026Rouse Avenue Court, Special Judge Dig Vinay SinghTried on rioting, arson, murder and conspiracy chargesEight of 18 witnesses had not named him for over 30 years

A Delhi court acquitted Kumar over the killings of Sohan Singh and Avtar Singh in Janakpuri and the alleged burning of Gurcharan Singh in Vikaspuri, citing the “absence of admissible, reliable evidence” of his presence or participation. The complainant, Harvinder Singh Kohli, had died before being examined, and the court noted that most witnesses were hearsay or had not named Kumar for three decades. Rejecting the argument that his earlier convictions showed guilt here, it wrote: “A man may be convicted of 100 crimes, but to be held guilty of the 101st crime, proof beyond a reasonable doubt in that crime is required.” Survivors expressed dismay at the verdict. He remained in jail on the earlier convictions.

Why it matters: Each case stands on its own evidence, which is why a conviction in one case cannot decide another.
Late
2025

Indian Express: 13 murder convictions in 41 years Courts & verdicts

Reported late 202528 convictions in total13 in murder casesNanavati tally: 587 FIRs in Delhi

The Indian Express reported that, 41 years on, just 28 riot cases had ended in convictions, 13 of them in murder cases, fewer than the 14 panels that investigated the violence. It cited the Nanavati Commission’s count of 587 FIRs in Delhi, of which 241 could not be traced and 253 had ended in acquittals, with 40 pending trial at that time. It also said Kumar’s appeal against his 2018 conviction was due for final hearing in the Supreme Court on 12 November 2025, and that one trial each was running in the Karkardooma and Saket courts. These are the newspaper’s figures, not a final national count.

Why it matters: The gap between the number of dead and the number of murder convictions defines the debate.
12 and 25 Feb
2025

Kumar convicted, then given life, over the Saraswati Vihar murders Courts & verdicts

Conviction 12 Feb 2025Life sentence 25 Feb 2025Jaswant Singh (50) and Tarundeep Singh (18)1 Nov 1984, Saraswati Vihar

A Delhi trial court convicted Kumar on 12 February 2025 of instigating a mob that killed Jaswant Singh and his son Tarundeep Singh on 1 November 1984 and sentenced him to life imprisonment on 25 February. The case had been closed by police with an untrace report in 1994 and was revived after the SIT process began. Kumar appealed in October 2025; the appeal ended with his death in August 2026.

Why it matters: A decades-old file, once closed, produced a conviction after reinvestigation.
30 Aug and 13 Sep
2024

Tytler: court orders charges, including murder, in the Pul Bangash case Courts & verdicts

Order 30 Aug 2024Charges framed 13 Sep 2024Special CBI judgeTytler pleaded not guilty

On 30 August 2024 a Delhi court held there was enough material to put former Congress leader Jagdish Tytler on trial over the killing of three Sikhs, Thakur Singh, Badal Singh and Guru Charan Singh, near Pul Bangash Gurdwara on 1 November 1984. Charges were formally framed on 13 September 2024, and Tytler pleaded not guilty. The allegations come from the CBI’s chargesheet of May 2023, which said he incited the mob. The trial continued into 2026 with no verdict reported. Framing a charge is not a finding of guilt.

Why it matters: A trial can begin forty years after the events, but the accused remains presumed innocent until a verdict.
15 Jan
2020

Government accepts the Dhingra SIT report Commissions & probes

Reported 15 Jan 2020Three-member SIT appointed by the Supreme Court in Jan 2018Reviewed 186 cases

The Supreme Court had appointed a three-member SIT headed by former Delhi High Court judge S.N. Dhingra in January 2018 to re-examine 186 cases. The Home Ministry told the court on 15 January 2020 that it had accepted the SIT’s report, which implicated several police personnel and said the main reason crimes went unpunished was the police’s lack of interest in acting according to law. The Supreme Court later asked the Centre for a fresh status report on acting on it. The report’s detailed findings are summarised here from news coverage.

Why it matters: A second, court-supervised review reached a finding similar to earlier inquiries: the failure began with policing.
The domed Supreme Court of India building seen from across a railing and parked cars at dusk
The Supreme Court of India, New Delhi, photographed in 2019. Photo: Pinakpani, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.
17 Dec
2018

High Court convicts Sajjan Kumar and sentences him to life Courts & verdicts

Monday 17 Dec 2018Delhi High CourtKilling of five Sikhs in Raj Nagar, Palam ColonyBurning of a gurdwaraReversed a 2013 acquittal

The Delhi High Court reversed Kumar’s 2013 acquittal and sentenced him to life imprisonment for the remainder of his natural life over the killing of five Sikhs in Raj Nagar, Palam Colony, on 1–2 November 1984 and the burning of a gurdwara. It affirmed the convictions of five others in the case, including life terms for Balwan Khokhar, Bhagmal and Giridhari Lal. Kumar was told to surrender by 31 December and moved the Supreme Court against the conviction; reports in 2025 still described that appeal as pending.

Why it matters: The conviction came 34 years after the events and followed a trial-court acquittal.
20 Nov
2018

First death sentence in a 1984 case: Mahipalpur killings Courts & verdicts

Convicted 15 Nov, sentenced Tuesday 20 Nov 2018Patiala House court, proceedings held at TiharYashpal Singh: deathNaresh Sherawat: life

Additional Sessions Judge Ajay Pandey sentenced Yashpal Singh to death and Naresh Sherawat to life imprisonment for the murders of Hardev Singh and Avtar Singh in Mahipalpur on 1 November 1984. It was the first death sentence in a 1984 riot case and the first verdict in a case reopened by the 2015 SIT; Delhi Police had closed the case in 1994. The judge said the offence fell in the “rarest of rare” category. Sentencing was held inside Tihar Jail after one convict was attacked at the court on 15 November, when both were convicted; each was fined Rs 35 lakh. The file went to the High Court for confirmation; appeals were still pending in late 2025.

Why it matters: Reinvestigation, not the original police file, produced the first sentence of death.
12 Feb
2015

Home Ministry forms an SIT to re-examine closed cases Commissions & probes

12 Feb 2015293 closed cases scrutinised199 closed on recordsFive chargesheets in the end

The Home Ministry set up a special investigation team to re-investigate serious Delhi cases that had been closed. According to the Indian Express, the SIT scrutinised 293 closed or untraced cases, closed 199 because of “incomplete, illegible” records or the absence of witnesses, and began preliminary enquiries in 60. Of those, 52 ended in closure, leaving eight; police filed chargesheets in five, of which one ended in an acquittal and one was pending in the Karkardooma court at the time of that report.

Why it matters: A fresh look found most files too thin to prosecute, which shows how much was lost in the first years.
16 Dec
2014

Government sanctions Rs 5 lakh more for each victim’s next of kin Violence & relief

16 Dec 2014Home Ministry sanctionPer PIB statement of 11 Mar 2015

The Union government sanctioned an additional Rs 5 lakh for the next of kin of each person who died in the 1984 riots. A written reply in the Rajya Sabha on 11 March 2015 recorded the sanction and gave the official toll: 3,325 people killed across the country, 2,733 of them in Delhi (Ahooja Committee). Money cannot reverse the loss, and the reply left criminal accountability to the states, since policing is a state subject.

Why it matters: Relief grew in steps over thirty years, while prosecutions lagged.
16 Jan
2006

Rehabilitation package of Rs 714.76 crore sanctioned Violence & relief

Sanctioned 16 Jan 2006Package closed 30 Jun 2012Rs 534.20 crore reimbursed to states by Mar 2015

After the Nanavati report the government sanctioned a rehabilitation package with a total outlay of Rs 714.76 crore. According to the Home Ministry’s March 2015 reply to the Rajya Sabha, money is reimbursed to state governments after utilisation certificates, Rs 534.20 crore had been reimbursed by then, and the package was closed from 30 June 2012.

Why it matters: Official relief followed the report, but its outlay and its payments were separate numbers.
11 Aug
2005

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh apologises in Parliament Commissions & probes

11 Aug 2005Rajya Sabha debate on the Nanavati reportOpposition motion defeated by voice voteTwo committees announced

During the debate on an Opposition motion on the Nanavati Commission report, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh said: “I apologise not only to the Sikh community but to the whole nation, because what took place in 1984 is a negation of the concept of nationhood enshrined in our Constitution.” The motion was defeated by voice vote after Home Minister Shivraj Patil announced two committees to ensure due compensation. The brief places the apology in “Parliament”; the Tribune’s report dates it to the Rajya Sabha, and one archive attributes it to the Lok Sabha.

Why it matters: An official apology recognised the wrong without deciding who was legally responsible.
The circular colonnaded Parliament House in New Delhi behind trees and a flower bed
The old Parliament House (Sansad Bhavan), New Delhi, photographed in 2014. Photo: Nikhilb239, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.
9 Feb
2005

Nanavati Commission submits its report Commissions & probes

9 Feb 2005Justice G.T. NanavatiTwo volumesPalam area: 246 Sikhs killed, five FIRs recorded

The commission found “credible material” that Sajjan Kumar and Balwan Khokhar were “probably involved” as alleged by witnesses and said the Delhi Police had recorded only five FIRs in the Delhi Cantonment area, where it counted 246 Sikhs killed between 31 October and 5 November 1984. It also said Jagdish Tytler was “very probably” involved, according to reports, and he later resigned from the Union Cabinet. It recommended that cases in which witnesses had named people but no chargesheet followed, or where cases had been closed as untraced, should be examined. A commission’s finding is not a criminal conviction.

Why it matters: The report turned witness accusations into an official record and sent several cases back for reinvestigation.

Nanavati Commission of Inquiry appointed Commissions & probes

8 May 2000Ministry of Home AffairsJustice G.T. Nanavati, former Supreme Court judge

The Home Ministry appointed the Justice Nanavati Commission on 8 May 2000, fifteen years after the first inquiry, to examine the violence and the handling of cases. It was the second commission of inquiry named in the Home Ministry’s own account, after the Ranganath Misra Commission.

Why it matters: The repeated creation of inquiries became part of the story itself.

Ahooja Committee settles the Delhi death toll at 2,733 Commissions & probes

Reported Aug 1987R.K. Ahooja CommitteeDelhi onlyNational total later cited as 3,325

The Ahooja Committee, set up on the Misra Commission’s recommendation, put the number killed in Delhi at 2,733. The Nanavati Commission cited it as an official estimate, while Sikh organisations said more than 3,000 had died. The Home Ministry later cited 3,325 across India, including 2,733 in Delhi. Different bodies counted differently, so the toll depends on the source.

Why it matters: Even the count of the dead was contested for decades.

Ranganath Misra Commission reports; three committees follow Commissions & probes

Commission appointed 1985Report submitted Aug 1986Kapur-Mittal, Jain-Agrawal and Ahooja committees

The Justice Ranganath Misra Commission, appointed in 1985, submitted its report to the Government of India in August 1986. As per the Home Ministry’s account, Delhi Administration then appointed three committees: Kapur-Mittal (conduct of police officers), Jain-Agrawal (allegations of grave offences) and Ahooja (the exact number of deaths). Their recommendations were accepted and implemented, self-employment schemes were started and financial relief was revised.

Why it matters: The first inquiry mainly created more inquiries, which still shaped who investigated what.
1-5 Nov
1984

Violence spreads across Delhi and other places Violence & relief

Most intense 1-2 NovPersisted in places until 5 NovParts of Delhi, Uttar Pradesh and other states

The most intense violence in Delhi came in the first days of November. Sikh residents were attacked and homes, shops and gurdwaras were looted or burned. The Nanavati Commission’s report records that violence began on the evening of 31 October, continued intensely for two days and persisted in some places until 5 November. Many families fled or sought shelter in relief camps and with neighbours. Allegations of police inaction and political involvement became central to every later inquiry.

Why it matters: The scale of the attacks and the reported lack of protection explain why the inquiries kept coming.
31 Oct
1984

Prime Minister Indira Gandhi is assassinated Violence & relief

31 Oct 1984New DelhiKilled by two of her Sikh bodyguards

Prime Minister Indira Gandhi was assassinated by two Sikh bodyguards. The killing caused grief and upheaval and was the immediate backdrop to the attacks on Sikhs that followed. It did not justify collective violence against civilians who had no part in it.

Why it matters: A crime by two individuals was followed by the punishment of a whole community.
Black and white portrait of Indira Gandhi smiling
Indira Gandhi, official portrait, 1983. Official portrait released by the Prime Minister’s Office of India (GODL-India), via Wikimedia Commons.
Advertisement
Advertisement

What Happened to the Delhi FIRs

What happened to the 587 Delhi FIRsNanavati Commission tally as reported by The Indian Express (late 2025). Bars add to 587; the last bar is the remainder.0100200300241Untracedclosed253Acquittedtrials40Pending trialthen11Quashed11Discharged3Withdrawn1Pending probe27Remaindernot itemisedSource: Indian Express summary of the Nanavati Commission. The remainder (27) is arithmetic, not a reported category, and likely includes convictions.
More than four in ten Delhi FIRs were closed as untraced, and about as many ended in acquittal.

What the 2015 SIT Found

The 2015 SIT: from 293 closed cases to five chargesheetsSpecial investigation team set up 12 Feb 2015, as reported by The Indian Express.0100200300293Closed cases scrutinisedreviewed199Closed on recordsincomplete / no witness60Preliminary enquirystarted52Closed after enquiryno evidence5ChargesheetsfiledSource: The Indian Express, late 2025. The categories do not sum to 293; the report does not itemise every case.
Records and witnesses had mostly vanished: the SIT filed chargesheets in five cases.

The Cases at a Glance

Dates and figures as reported; the legal outcome is separate from allegations and findings.

DateEventDetail
31 Oct 1984AssassinationIndira Gandhi killed by two Sikh bodyguards
1-5 Nov 1984ViolenceMost intense in Delhi on 1-2 Nov; persisted in places to 5 Nov
Aug 1986Misra Commission reportFollowed by Kapur-Mittal, Jain-Agrawal and Ahooja committees
9 Feb 2005Nanavati reportTwo volumes; 587 Delhi FIRs reviewed
11 Aug 2005ApologyManmohan Singh in Parliament
16 Jan 2006Rehabilitation packageRs 714.76 crore sanctioned
16 Dec 2014Further reliefRs 5 lakh more per next of kin
12 Feb 2015SIT formed293 closed cases scrutinised
Jan 2018Supreme Court SITDhingra-led, 186 cases
20 Nov 2018First death sentenceYashpal Singh; Naresh Sherawat life
17 Dec 2018Kumar convictedDelhi High Court, life term, Palam Colony
13 Sep 2024Tytler charges framedPul Bangash Gurdwara case; not guilty plea
12/25 Feb 2025Kumar convicted againSaraswati Vihar murders, life term
22 Jan 2026Kumar acquittedJanakpuri-Vikaspuri case
20/25 Aug 2026Kumar dies; appeal closedAppeal in Saraswati Vihar case abated
1 Sep 2026FIR order set asideSpecial judge cites delay and no fresh evidence

Reading the Legal Terms

TermMeaningWhy it matters here
Commission of inquiryA body that investigates and recommends, with no power to convictMisra and Nanavati commissions; findings are not verdicts
FIRFirst Information Report, the police record that starts a case587 Delhi FIRs were counted by Nanavati
Untrace reportPolice tell the court the accused could not be traced241 Delhi FIRs; also used to close the Saraswati Vihar case in 1994
ChargesheetThe police report setting out evidence and the accusedNot a finding of guilt
Framing of chargesThe court formally states the offences the accused will faceDone for Tytler on 13 Sep 2024
AcquittalThe court finds guilt not proved beyond reasonable doubtIncludes Kumar, Jan 2026
AbatementAn appeal ends because the appellant has diedKumar appeal closed 25 Aug 2026; no ruling on merits
SITSpecial investigation teamHome Ministry 2015; Supreme Court-appointed Dhingra team 2018

Why Did Cases Take Decades?

Closed files. Of 587 Delhi FIRs in the Nanavati tally, 241 were closed as untraced, and the SIT of 2015 closed 199 of 293 reviewed cases because of “incomplete, illegible” records or no witnesses.

Police inaction. The Nanavati Commission said only five FIRs were recorded in an area where it counted 246 Sikhs killed. The Dhingra SIT report, accepted by the Centre in January 2020, said the basic reason crimes went unpunished was the police’s lack of interest in acting according to law, according to news coverage.

Time and evidence. Witnesses died or could not be found, complainants such as Harvinder Singh Kohli died before being examined, and courts have asked why accounts surfaced only after thirty years.

Standard of proof. In January 2026 a court wrote that a person may be convicted of 100 crimes, but a 101st still needs proof beyond reasonable doubt. That is why some cases led to convictions and others to acquittal or closure.

Who Is Who in the Record

Roles examined in the case, not final findings of guilt.

Commission

Ranganath Misra Commission

Appointed 1985; reported Aug 1986; led to three Delhi committees.

Commission

Justice G.T. Nanavati Commission

Appointed 8 May 2000; report 9 Feb 2005; said Kumar was probably involved.

Investigators

SIT of 2015 and Dhingra SIT of 2018

Re-examined closed cases; the Dhingra report was accepted by the Centre in Jan 2020.

Convicted

Sajjan Kumar

Life terms in 2018 and 2025; acquitted Jan 2026; died 20 Aug 2026.

On trial

Jagdish Tytler

Charges framed Sept 2024 in the Pul Bangash case; pleaded not guilty; no verdict reported.

Sentenced

Yashpal Singh, Naresh Sherawat

Mahipalpur killings; death sentence and life term in Nov 2018.

Courts

Delhi High Court and trial courts

Convicted, acquitted and closed appeals across 2018-2026.

Survivors

Families and lawyers such as H.S. Phoolka

Pressed for reinvestigation and fuller accountability for four decades.

Relief and Rehabilitation

Delhi Administration revised financial relief and began self-employment schemes after the Misra report. The government sanctioned a Rs 714.76 crore Rehabilitation Package on 16 January 2006, of which Rs 534.20 crore had been reimbursed to states by March 2015, and it closed on 30 June 2012. On 16 December 2014 it sanctioned Rs 5 lakh more for the next of kin of each person who died. Financial help cannot reverse the loss of life or settle criminal responsibility.

The Legacy of 1984

The violence remains a major chapter in India’s modern history because it raises lasting questions about protecting minorities, the conduct of public institutions, the quality of criminal investigations and equal access to justice.

For survivors, justice has meant more than compensation: recognition of their suffering, credible investigations, fair trials, accountability where guilt is proved and preservation of the historical record. The proceedings of 2025 and 2026 show that legal developments can still occur decades after a crime, and also the limits of delayed justice.

Remembering 1984 means preserving survivors’ experiences while distinguishing proven facts from allegations, and recognising that accountability depends on credible evidence and a functioning justice system.

The Popular Story vs the Record

Short versions of the story blur several details.

Popular versionWhat the record shows
The toll is 3,325 in DelhiThe Home Ministry cites 3,325 across India, of which 2,733 in Delhi; Sikh bodies say Delhi alone exceeded 3,000
Sajjan Kumar was convicted only in 2025The Delhi High Court convicted him on 17 Dec 2018 in the Palam Colony case; the Feb 2025 case was a second conviction
His death ended every case against himThe Saraswati Vihar appeal abated; an appeal against his Sultanpuri acquittal was reported pending, and his 2018 Supreme Court appeal status is unconfirmed
253 cases ended in convictionsIn the Nanavati tally, 253 of 587 Delhi FIRs ended in acquittals; the Indian Express counts 28 convictions, 13 for murder
The Sept 2026 ruling closed all outstanding casesIt set aside one 2017 FIR order about two deaths and said nothing about other cases
Tytler has been convictedCharges were framed in Sept 2024 and he pleaded not guilty; no verdict is reported
The Janakpuri acquittal cleared him of 1984It covered one incident; his earlier convictions were separate and he remained in jail

The Cases in Numbers

MeasureFigureSource and caveat
Deaths in India3,325Home Ministry reply, 11 Mar 2015
Deaths in Delhi2,733Ahooja Committee, as cited by the Home Ministry
Delhi FIRs reviewed587Nanavati Commission, via Indian Express
Untraced241Same tally
Acquittals253Same tally
Convictions to date28 (13 murder)Indian Express, late 2025
Rehabilitation packageRs 714.76 croreSanctioned 16 Jan 2006
Extra relief per deathRs 5 lakhSanctioned 16 Dec 2014
Cases reviewed by Dhingra SIT186Supreme Court, Jan 2018
Panels that investigated14Indian Express count
Advertisement

Explore More Timelines

People Also Ask

Was Indira Gandhi’s assassination the cause of the riots?
It was the immediate trigger. Attacks on Sikhs began on the evening of 31 October 1984, hours after she was killed. The Nanavati Commission and later courts examined how mobs were organised and why police did not stop them, and the killing by two individuals does not justify violence against a community.
Who was convicted for the 1984 riots?
Convictions include Sajjan Kumar (2018 and 2025), Yashpal Singh (death sentence, 2018), Naresh Sherawat (life, 2018), Balwan Khokhar, Bhagmal and Giridhari Lal (life, affirmed 2018), and Mahendra Yadav and Kishan Khokhar (10 years, 2018). Most convictions came decades after the events.
Did the government apologise?
Yes. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh apologised on 11 August 2005 to the Sikh community and the nation during a debate on the Nanavati report. An apology is not a legal finding, and criminal cases continued in the courts.
How long did the violence last?
The Nanavati Commission’s report says it began on the evening of 31 October 1984, continued intensely for two days and persisted in some places until 5 November. Delhi saw the highest concentration of deaths, with violence also reported in other states.
Are any 1984 trials still ongoing?
Yes. The Indian Express reported in late 2025 that trials were running in the Rouse Avenue, Karkardooma and Saket courts, and the Tytler trial was at the witness stage at its last reported hearing on 1 July 2026. Check court records for the present position.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many people were killed in the 1984 anti-Sikh riots?
The Union government cited 3,325 deaths across India, including 2,733 in Delhi, according to a Home Ministry reply in the Rajya Sabha on 11 March 2015. The Delhi figure comes from the Ahooja Committee. Sikh organisations have said more than 3,000 died in Delhi alone, so counts differ by source.
What triggered the violence?
Prime Minister Indira Gandhi was assassinated by two of her Sikh bodyguards on 31 October 1984. Attacks on Sikhs began that evening and were most intense in Delhi on 1 and 2 November. The assassination does not justify violence against civilians.
What is the difference between a commission finding and a conviction?
A commission can investigate, record witness evidence and recommend action, but only a criminal court can find someone guilty. For example, the Nanavati Commission said Sajjan Kumar was probably involved, while convictions came from trial and appeal courts that applied the standard of proof beyond reasonable doubt.
What was the Nanavati Commission?
Justice G.T. Nanavati, a former Supreme Court judge, was appointed by the Home Ministry on 8 May 2000 to inquire into the violence and the handling of cases. It submitted a two-volume report on 9 February 2005, which examined the role of leaders and police and recommended further examination of several cases.
What did Manmohan Singh apologise for?
On 11 August 2005 the Prime Minister told Parliament that what took place in 1984 was a negation of the Constitution’s concept of nationhood, and apologised to the Sikh community and the nation. The apology followed the Nanavati report and was reported in the Rajya Sabha, according to the Tribune.
What happened to Sajjan Kumar?
Kumar was convicted by the Delhi High Court in December 2018 over the Raj Nagar killings and by a trial court in February 2025 over the Saraswati Vihar murders, both with life terms. He was acquitted in a Janakpuri-Vikaspuri case in January 2026 and died on 20 August 2026. The High Court closed his appeal in the 2025 case on 25 August.
Did Sajjan Kumar’s death end all the cases against him?
No. The High Court closed his appeal in the Saraswati Vihar case because he died. His Supreme Court appeal against the 2018 conviction was reported pending at his death, with no report found on how it was treated since, and an appeal against his Sultanpuri acquittal was reported pending before the Delhi High Court Registrar.
What is the status of the Jagdish Tytler case?
A Delhi court framed charges, including murder, on 13 September 2024 over the killing of three Sikhs near Pul Bangash Gurdwara on 1 November 1984. He pleaded not guilty. The trial was still at the witness stage: a hearing on 1 July 2026 was adjourned to 15 July because a prosecution witness could not be examined. No later hearing or verdict was found.
What did the 2015 SIT do?
The Home Ministry formed a special investigation team on 12 February 2015 to re-examine closed serious cases. The Indian Express reported that it scrutinised 293 cases, closed 199 on the basis of records, held preliminary enquiries in 60 and filed chargesheets in five of the eight that remained.
Who was sentenced to death in a 1984 case?
Yashpal Singh was sentenced to death on 20 November 2018 for the Mahipalpur murders of Hardev Singh and Avtar Singh on 1 November 1984, and Naresh Sherawat received life imprisonment. It was the first death sentence in a 1984 case. Appeals were still pending in the High Court in late 2025.
How many convictions were there in the Delhi cases?
The Indian Express reported in late 2025 that 28 riot cases had ended in convictions, 13 of them in murder cases. It cited the Nanavati Commission’s count of 587 FIRs in Delhi, of which 253 ended in acquittals. These are the paper’s figures and not a final count across India.
Why did so many cases fail?
Reports and rulings cite missing or incomplete police records, closed untraced FIRs, witnesses who could not be found or had died, delayed statements and disputes over reliability. Courts have also said that suspicion or a person’s other convictions cannot replace proof in the case at hand.
What compensation did the government announce?
The Union government sanctioned a Rs 714.76 crore rehabilitation package on 16 January 2006, which was closed on 30 June 2012, and on 16 December 2014 an additional Rs 5 lakh for the next of kin of each person who died. Money cannot undo the loss, and it was separate from criminal accountability.
What was the Misra Commission?
The Justice Ranganath Misra Commission was appointed in 1985 and submitted its report in August 1986. Delhi Administration then appointed the Kapur-Mittal, Jain-Agrawal and Ahooja committees to examine police conduct, serious offences and the number of deaths.
Was there a second Supreme Court-appointed investigation?
Yes. In January 2018 the Supreme Court appointed a three-member SIT headed by S.N. Dhingra to review 186 cases. The Home Ministry told the court on 15 January 2020 that it accepted the report, which implicated several police personnel according to news coverage.
What did the court say in the January 2026 acquittal?
The Rouse Avenue court said the prosecution had not shown beyond reasonable doubt that Kumar was present or took part in the Janakpuri and Vikaspuri incidents. It noted that most witnesses were hearsay or had not named him for decades and that a person’s other convictions cannot establish guilt in another case.
Why did a court refuse to revive an FIR in September 2026?
A special judge set aside a 2017 magisterial order to register an FIR into two deaths, citing extraordinary delay and the absence of fresh and credible material. The complaint, filed in 2005, alleged police inaction; earlier inquiries had found no reliable material against the officers, and the ruling concerns this complaint only.
Are the riots called a genocide or a massacre?
Terms vary. Official documents and many courts use riots, while Sikh organisations and many writers use massacre, pogrom or genocide. This page uses the term in the source being quoted and avoids deciding the legal label, which no court here has decided.
Is the toll of 3,325 final?
It is the figure the Union government cited, drawn from official records and the Ahooja Committee’s finding for Delhi. Other organisations give higher numbers for Delhi, and the geographical scope and method of counting matter, so it should be treated as an official figure and not a settled total.
Where can I check the current status of 1984 cases?
Check the Delhi High Court and Rouse Avenue, Karkardooma and Saket court records, the Supreme Court case-status portal and reports from the Press Information Bureau and national newspapers. Case status changes with each hearing, and news stories can lag behind court orders.
Why is 1984 still significant today?
It raises lasting questions about protecting minorities, police conduct, the quality of criminal investigations and how long justice should be allowed to take. Survivors have asked for recognition, credible investigation, fair trials and accountability where guilt is proved.

Related AiTimeline Stories

⚠️ Editorial Note

This page separates inquiry findings, prosecution allegations, convictions, acquittals and procedural orders. Case status is described as of 21 October 2026 from the cited reporting; check the latest court orders before relying on any procedural status. Changes from the original brief: the High Court’s 17 December 2018 conviction of Sajjan Kumar, the November 2018 death sentence, the 2018 Supreme Court-appointed SIT and the 2025 Indian Express figures were added; the Indian Express count of 253 acquittals belongs to the Nanavati tally of 587 Delhi FIRs, not to a conviction comparison; the September 2026 ruling is stated as setting aside a January 2017 magisterial order about two deaths and a complaint against police officers; the brief’s undated 1990s entry could not be sourced and is omitted. Court orders in 2026 were taken from news reports, not from the orders themselves, and the treatment of Kumar’s Supreme Court appeal after his death, and the Tytler trial after 1 July 2026, could not be confirmed. Terms such as riots, massacre and pogrom are used differently by officials and communities; no court here has settled a legal label.

Advertisement
Morbi Bridge Collapse: Timeline, Causes, and Aftermath Bhagalpur Blindings Case Timeline: Court Verdicts, Convictions and Legacy
→
Next Article