← AiTimeline Home

Courts · Criminal Justice · 2002–2026

Bilkis Bano Case Timeline: Legal Battles and Verdicts

📅 Last updated: 6 November 2026📖 37 dated entries, 2002 to 2026✎ By Nazish Fatima

View as Web Story

In short

Explore the Bilkis Bano case timeline, from the 2002 Gujarat riots, CBI probe and 2008 convictions to the Supreme Court's 2024 remission verdict.

Latest Story

The Bilkis Bano case is the record of a survivor who kept going back to court for more than two decades. On 3 March 2002, during the Gujarat riots, Bilkis Bano was gang-raped and 14 people with her were killed, including her three-year-old daughter. The local police closed the case as undetected. She took it to the Supreme Court, which handed the investigation to the CBI and moved the trial to Mumbai; 11 men were sentenced to life in 2008, and seven police officers and doctors were later convicted for burying the evidence. In August 2022 Gujarat released the 11 early. In January 2024 the Supreme Court quashed that decision, holding that Gujarat had no power to make it and that the order it relied on had been obtained by fraud. This timeline follows each stage from the court record.

💡 Short Answer

Bilkis Bano was gang-raped and 14 people with her were killed in Gujarat on 3 March 2002. After police closed the case, the Supreme Court ordered a CBI probe and a Mumbai trial, and 11 men got life sentences in 2008. Gujarat released them in August 2022; on 8 January 2024 the Supreme Court quashed that remission, and they returned to prison.

⚡ The Case at a Glance
Crime3 March 2002, Dahod
CBI probe orderedDecember 2003
Trial moved to Mumbai6 August 2004
11 life sentences21 January 2008
Released early15 August 2022
Remission quashed8 January 2024
⚡ Quick Answers — AI Overview Ready

Bilkis Bano Case: Key Questions

What is the Bilkis Bano case?
It is the prosecution of the gang rape of Bilkis Bano and the murder of 14 people with her during the 2002 Gujarat riots. After a failed police probe, a CBI investigation and a trial in Mumbai led to life sentences for 11 men in 2008, upheld in 2017.
What did the Supreme Court decide on 8 January 2024?
It quashed Gujarat’s August 2022 remission orders. Because the men were sentenced in Maharashtra, only Maharashtra could grant remission, and the May 2022 order Gujarat relied on had been obtained by suppressing facts. The 11 convicts were told to return to jail within two weeks.
Why were the 11 convicts released in 2022?
The Supreme Court had told Gujarat in May 2022 to decide one convict’s remission plea under its 1992 policy. A jail advisory committee recommended release for all 11, the Centre approved, and Gujarat ordered remission on 10 August 2022. They left prison on 15 August.
Are the Bilkis Bano convicts in jail now?
Yes. All 11 surrendered at the Godhra sub-jail on 21 January 2024. The Supreme Court rejected Gujarat’s review petition on 26 September 2024. Any future remission must be decided by Maharashtra, and we found no reported decision as of November 2026.
📚 Key Takeaways

The Case in Ten Points

  • The crime: 3 March 2002, near Pannivel in Dahod; 14 killed, Bilkis Bano gang-raped.
  • The FIR: recorded without the rape or the names she gave.
  • Closure: the police closed the case as undetected; a magistrate accepted it in March 2003.
  • CBI: the Supreme Court handed the probe to the CBI in December 2003; 20 were charged in April 2004.
  • Mumbai: the trial was moved out of Gujarat on 6 August 2004.
  • Verdict: 11 life sentences on 21 January 2008, upheld on 4 May 2017.
  • Officials: seven police officers and doctors were convicted for destroying evidence or false records.
  • Compensation: Rs 50 lakh, a job and a home, ordered on 23 April 2019.
  • Release: Gujarat remitted the sentences on 10 August 2022; the men left jail on 15 August.
  • Reversal: the Supreme Court quashed the remission on 8 January 2024; the men surrendered on 21 January.
How to read this page: it reports findings of courts and the dates on which they were made. Descriptions of the crime are taken from the Bombay High Court’s 2017 judgment and the Supreme Court’s 2024 judgment, and are kept to what is needed to understand the case. The 2024 judgment concerned the legality of the remission orders; it did not reopen the convictions.

Timeline: The Crime, the Investigation and the Legal Battles

Newest first. Colour shows which phase each event belongs to.

Challenge and reversalRemissionTrial and appealsInvestigationThe crime

Where the Bilkis Bano case stands Challenge and reversal 2022-26

Status as of 6 November 2026All 11 convicts back in prison since January 2024

The convictions: The life sentences of the 11 men stand. They were upheld by the Bombay High Court in 2017, and the Supreme Court dismissed the petitions against that judgment the same year.

Remission: The Supreme Court held that only Maharashtra, where the men were tried and sentenced, can decide any future remission plea, and that they must be in prison to make one. We found no public report of a decision by Maharashtra.

Settled: the 2024 ruling quashed the release orders, not the convictions.
26 Sep 2024

Gujarat’s review petition dismissed Challenge and reversal 2022-26

Review Petition (Crl.) No. 262 of 2024Justices B.V. Nagarathna and Ujjal Bhuyan, in chambers

What happened: The Supreme Court rejected the Gujarat government’s petition to review the January 2024 judgment, and a second review petition, without an open-court hearing. Gujarat had objected, among other things, to the finding that it had “acted in tandem and was complicit” with the convict who obtained the May 2022 order.

The order: The bench said there was no error apparent on the face of the record and no merit warranting reconsideration.

Final: the January 2024 judgment stands in full.
19 Jul 2024

Two convicts’ challenge withdrawn Challenge and reversal 2022-26

Radheshyam Shah and Rajubhai SoniWrit petition against the January 2024 judgment

What happened: Two of the convicts filed a fresh writ petition asking the Supreme Court to reconsider its January ruling, arguing that it conflicted with the May 2022 judgment of another bench. The bench called the petition “absolutely misconceived” and it was dismissed as withdrawn.

Why it matters: It closed the convicts’ attempt to reopen the ruling through a new petition.

Outcome: dismissed as withdrawn, as reported by Verdictum and The Tribune.
21 Jan 2024

All 11 convicts surrender in Godhra Challenge and reversal 2022-26

Godhra sub-jail, Panchmahal districtShortly before the midnight deadline

What happened: The 11 men surrendered at the Godhra sub-jail late on the night of 21 January, the last day allowed by the Supreme Court, under police security.

Context: They had spent about 17 months outside prison after their release in August 2022.

Back inside: the status quo before the remission orders was restored.
19 Jan 2024

Requests for more time rejected Challenge and reversal 2022-26

Supreme Court of IndiaJustices B.V. Nagarathna and Ujjal Bhuyan

What happened: Several convicts asked for extensions of four to six weeks to surrender, citing reasons such as illness, family responsibilities and harvest work. The court found no merit in the reasons and refused.

Deadline: The men were told to report to jail by Sunday, 21 January 2024.

No extension: the two-week deadline was enforced.
8 Jan 2024

Supreme Court quashes the remission orders Challenge and reversal 2022-26

Bilkis Yakub Rasool v. Union of India, 2024 INSC 24Justices B.V. Nagarathna and Ujjal Bhuyan; 251 pages

The holding: Under Section 432(7) of the Code of Criminal Procedure, the “appropriate government” is the state where the offender was sentenced. The men were tried and sentenced in Maharashtra, so Gujarat had no jurisdiction and its orders of 10 August 2022 were quashed.

The May 2022 order: The court held that its own order of 13 May 2022 was a nullity, because it was obtained by suppressing material facts and misrepresenting them, including the Gujarat High Court’s earlier rulings that Maharashtra was the appropriate government.

The result: Gujarat had “usurped” Maharashtra’s power. The court refused to let the men stay free under Article 142 and directed them to report to jail within two weeks.

Rule of law over liberty: “only when rule of law prevails will liberty and all other fundamental rights prevail”, the court wrote.
12 Oct 2023

Judgment reserved after 11 days of hearings Challenge and reversal 2022-26

Special bench of the Supreme CourtRecords ordered by 16 October 2023

What happened: A bench of Justices B.V. Nagarathna and Ujjal Bhuyan finished hearing Bilkis Bano’s petition and the public interest petitions, and reserved its verdict. It asked the Centre and Gujarat to file the original remission records with translations.

Questions argued: Whether the petitions were maintainable, which state was the appropriate government, and whether the remission orders had been passed properly.

Length: 11 days of hearings spread across 2023.
13 Dec 2022

Review of the May 2022 order dismissed Challenge and reversal 2022-26

Justices Ajay Rastogi and Vikram Nath, in chambersSame day: Justice Bela M. Trivedi recuses

What happened: The bench that wrote the May 2022 order dismissed Bilkis Bano’s petition to review it, saying no case for review was made out. The dismissal became public on 17 December.

Her writ petition: Her separate writ petition against the remission orders stayed alive. Justice Bela M. Trivedi recused herself from the bench hearing it, without giving reasons.

Two tracks: the review failed, the writ petition went on to win.

Bilkis Bano goes to the Supreme Court herself Challenge and reversal 2022-26

Writ Petition (Crl.) No. 491 of 2022Filed under Article 32 of the Constitution

What happened: Bilkis Bano filed her own petition to quash the remission orders, along with a petition to review the May 2022 judgment that had sent the remission question to Gujarat.

Why it mattered: As the victim, she had standing that the public interest petitioners might not. The 2024 judgment treated her petition as the lead case and left the PILs’ maintainability open.

Correction: her petition was filed in November 2022, not September, as some timelines state.

Public interest petitions challenge the release Challenge and reversal 2022-26

Supreme Court of IndiaSubhashini Ali, Revati Laul and Roop Rekha Verma filed first

Who went to court: Former MP Subhashini Ali with journalist Revati Laul and former Lucknow University vice-chancellor Roop Rekha Verma filed the first petition. Others followed from MP Mahua Moitra, the National Federation of Indian Women, lawyer Asma Shafique Shaikh, and former officials including Meeran Chadha Borwankar.

Public reaction: About 6,000 signatories urged the court to revoke the release. Images of the men being welcomed with sweets on their release drew wide criticism.

First filed: Subhashini Ali v. State of Gujarat, Writ Petition (Crl.) No. 319 of 2022.
15 Aug 2022

The 11 convicts walk out of Godhra sub-jail Remission 2019-22

Independence Day, 2022About 14 years after conviction

What happened: All 11 men were released under Gujarat’s remission orders. They had spent a little over 14 years in prison, with paroles and furloughs, of life sentences for murder and gang rape.

Reaction: The release prompted protests and statements from opposition parties, women’s groups and former civil servants.

Note: remission shortens a sentence; it does not erase a conviction.
10 Aug 2022

Gujarat signs the remission orders Remission 2019-22

Home Department, Government of GujaratUnder the 9 July 1992 premature-release policy

What happened: After the Centre’s approval, Gujarat issued orders granting remission and early release to all 11 convicts.

What the court later found: The orders did not deal with the negative opinions of the CBI and the Mumbai trial court, and the authorities overlooked that the men had not paid the fines imposed on them.

Later quashed: these are the orders set aside on 8 January 2024.
11 Jul 2022

The Centre approves early release Remission 2019-22

Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of IndiaSection 435 of the CrPC

What happened: Gujarat wrote to the Union Home Ministry on 28 June 2022 seeking approval, because the case had been investigated by a central agency, the CBI. The ministry conveyed its approval on 11 July.

Why it mattered: Consultation with the Centre is required by law for cases investigated by a central agency.

Timing: 13 days from Gujarat’s request to the Centre’s approval.
26 May 2022

Jail Advisory Committee recommends release Remission 2019-22

Godhra Sub-Jail Jail Advisory CommitteeUnanimous, 13 days after the court order

What happened: All members of the committee recommended remission for all 11. The Sessions Judge at Godhra also gave a positive opinion under the 1992 policy.

The dissenting record: The Special Judge in Mumbai who had tried the case, and the Mumbai police unit involved, had opposed release. The 2024 judgment held that the Mumbai court’s opinion was the one that mattered by law.

Membership: the committee included two BJP MLAs, according to reports at the time.
13 May 2022

Supreme Court tells Gujarat to decide Remission 2019-22

Radheshyam Bhagwandas Shah v. State of Gujarat, (2022) 8 SCC 552Justices Ajay Rastogi and Vikram Nath

The order: On a petition by convict Radheshyam Shah, the court held that Gujarat, where the crime took place, was the appropriate government, and directed it to decide his plea within two months under its 9 July 1992 policy.

What was not disclosed: According to the 2024 judgment, Shah did not tell the court that the Gujarat High Court had twice ruled Maharashtra the appropriate government, or that his application in Maharashtra had drawn negative opinions.

Later held void: the 2024 bench called this order a nullity obtained by fraud on the court.
13 Mar 2020

Gujarat High Court rules again: ask Maharashtra Remission 2019-22

Gujarat High CourtOrder never challenged or recalled

What happened: Radheshyam Shah returned to the Gujarat High Court seeking remission. It rejected the plea, holding again that under Section 432(7)(b) the appropriate government was Maharashtra, and let him approach the Bombay High Court.

Why it mattered: The 2024 judgment stressed that this order still held the field when Shah went to the Supreme Court in 2022.

Two rulings: 17 July 2019 and 13 March 2020, both naming Maharashtra.

Every authority consulted says no Remission 2019-22

CBI, Special Court Mumbai, Dahod police and collector14 Aug 2019 to 19 Feb 2020

The opinions: On Shah’s application in Maharashtra, the CBI recommended on 14 August 2019 that he serve his full sentence. The Special CBI Court in Mumbai objected on 3 January 2020. The Dahod Superintendent of Police on 3 February and the Collector on 19 February 2020 also opposed release, citing threats feared by the victim’s family.

A year later: In March 2021 the Mumbai Special Judge said Maharashtra’s 2008 policy would apply, under which the minimum term for these offences is 28 years.

Unanimous then: CBI, trial court, police and district magistrate all opposed release.
17 Jul 2019

First remission plea: Gujarat High Court points to Maharashtra Remission 2019-22

Radheshyam Bhagwandas Shah, convictAfter 14 years, 5 months and 6 days in prison

What happened: Shah asked the Gujarat High Court to order consideration of his premature release. Relying on the Constitution Bench ruling in Union of India v. V. Sriharan, it held that Maharashtra was the appropriate government and told him to pursue his remedy there.

Next step: On 1 August 2019 Shah applied to Maharashtra’s Home Department.

Starting point: the remission fight began with one convict, not all 11.
23 Apr 2019

Rs 50 lakh compensation, a job and a home Trial and appeals 2004-19

Supreme Court: Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Justices Deepak Gupta and Sanjiv KhannaCriminal Appeal Nos. 727-733 of 2019

The order: The court directed Gujarat to pay Bilkis Bano Rs 50 lakh within two weeks, and to offer her a government job and government accommodation at a place of her choice if she wished.

Why: Her case “surpass[ed] normal cases”, the court said: she had been forced to live “the life of a nomad and as an orphan” on the charity of NGOs.

The officers: The court was told one convicted police officer’s dismissal had been upheld, three retired officers had lost all their pension, and a two-stage demotion was recommended for IPS officer R.S. Bhagora.

Contrast: a month earlier, Gujarat had offered Rs 5 lakh, which she declined.
29 Mar 2019

Gujarat offers Rs 5 lakh Trial and appeals 2004-19

Supreme Court of IndiaSolicitor General Tushar Mehta for Gujarat

What happened: Gujarat offered interim compensation of Rs 5 lakh. Her counsel declined and asked for a final decision. The state also promised to complete disciplinary action against the convicted officers within two weeks.

Background: On 23 October 2017 the court had asked her to seek higher compensation through a separate appeal, as the trial court’s award was meagre.

Pressure: the court tied the hearing to proof of disciplinary action.
10 Jul 2017

Supreme Court leaves the High Court verdict intact Trial and appeals 2004-19

SLP (Crl.) Nos. 4290, 4705 and 4716 of 2017A further petition dismissed on 20 November 2017

What happened: The Supreme Court dismissed the special leave petitions against the Bombay High Court judgment, upholding its findings and the sentences.

Effect: The convictions of all 18 people found guilty, the 11 attackers and the seven police officers and doctors, became final.

Final: no further appeal remained against the convictions.
4 May 2017

Bombay High Court upholds the life sentences Trial and appeals 2004-19

Jaswantbhai Chaturbhai Nai v. State of GujaratJustices V.K. Tahilramani and Mridula Bhatkar

The convicts: The court dismissed the 11 men’s appeals and confirmed their life sentences. It also dismissed the CBI’s appeal seeking the death penalty for three of them, holding the case did not fall in the “rarest of rare” category.

The officers: It set aside the acquittal of five police officers and two doctors and convicted them under Sections 201 and 218 of the IPC, for causing evidence to disappear and framing incorrect records. Head Constable Somabhai Gori had died while his appeal was pending.

On the first investigation: It found the Gujarat police had steered the case in the wrong direction from the day the FIR was recorded, and that the investigation “smacked of dishonest steps to shield the culprits”.

Forensics: “not a single skull was found” when the bodies were exhumed, the court noted.
21 Jan 2008

Mumbai court convicts 11 men Trial and appeals 2004-19

Special Judge, Greater MumbaiSessions Case No. 634 of 2004

The verdict: The court convicted 11 men of the gang rape of Bilkis Bano, the gang rape and murder of her mother and cousin Shamim, and the murder of 14 people including her daughter, and sentenced them to life imprisonment.

The police: Head Constable Somabhai Gori was convicted under Sections 217 and 218 of the IPC for deliberately recording the FIR incorrectly. Five other police officers and two doctors were acquitted.

The twelfth man: Accused number 3, Naresh Modhiya, had died during the trial.

Then: appeals by the convicts and by the CBI reached the Bombay High Court by 2011.
13 Jan 2005

Charges framed in Mumbai Trial and appeals 2004-19

Special court, Greater MumbaiIPC Sections 143, 147, 302 and 376(2)(e) and (g)

What happened: The court framed charges of rioting, murder and gang rape against the 12 attackers, and charges of conspiracy, destroying evidence and framing incorrect records against the six police officers and two doctors.

Defence: All the accused pleaded not guilty and said they had been falsely implicated.

Accused: 20 in total, 12 attackers and 8 officials.
6 Aug 2004

Supreme Court moves the trial to Mumbai Trial and appeals 2004-19

Transfer Petition (Crl.) No. 192 of 2004From the Dahod sessions court to Maharashtra

What happened: Bilkis Bano said she feared for her safety and a fair trial in Gujarat. The Supreme Court transferred the case “in the peculiar facts and circumstances” to a competent court in Mumbai for trial and disposal.

The long consequence: Because the men were tried and sentenced in Maharashtra, Maharashtra became the “appropriate government” for remission, the point on which the 2024 judgment turned.

Decisive later: this transfer is why Gujarat could not grant remission.
19 Apr 2004

CBI files its charge-sheet against 20 Investigation 2002-04

CBI, after a fresh investigationForensic report received 8 April 2004

Who was charged: Twelve men accused of the attack, six police personnel and two government doctors who conducted the post-mortems.

The allegation against officials: That they suppressed evidence and recorded falsehoods to shield the attackers.

Scale: 8 public servants among the 20 accused.
1 Feb 2004

Bodies exhumed; no skulls found Investigation 2002-04

Exhumation 28 January to 1 February 2004CBI with forensic experts

What happened: The CBI exhumed the remains buried after the 2002 inquest and sent them for post-mortem and forensic analysis.

What it showed: Not a single skull was recovered. The High Court later inferred that the attackers did not want the bodies identified.

Missing: only 7 of the 14 bodies had ever been found.
1 Jan 2004

CBI takes over from Gujarat Police Investigation 2002-04

Investigating officer K.N. Sinha, CBIFresh investigation

What happened: The CBI took charge of the case, seized photographs of the bodies taken at the spot, recorded witness statements including Bilkis Bano’s, and drew a new scene-of-offence panchnama in March 2004.

Why it matters: The case had been closed as “true but undetected” less than a year earlier.

Turnaround: from closure to charge-sheet in under four months.

Supreme Court orders a CBI investigation Investigation 2002-04

Writ Petition (Crl.) No. 118 of 2003Bombay High Court records the date as 16 December 2003

What happened: The Supreme Court set aside the closure and transferred the investigation from the Gujarat Police to the CBI.

Why it mattered: It was the first turning point: an agency outside the state now investigated the crime and the original investigation itself.

Date note: some press timelines give 6 December; the 2017 judgment records 16 December.

Bilkis Bano petitions the Supreme Court Investigation 2002-04

Writ Petition (Crl.) No. 118 of 2003Supported by human rights activists

What happened: She asked the Supreme Court to set aside the magistrate’s acceptance of the closure report and to transfer the investigation to the CBI.

Why: She had named her attackers, yet the police had recorded the crime against unknown persons and closed it.

Month: as reported in press timelines; the judgments give only the year.
25 Mar 2003

Magistrate accepts the closure report Investigation 2002-04

Limkheda police re-submit an “A” summary in February 2003Order of the Judicial Magistrate

What happened: The police again asked to close the case as true but undetected. This time the magistrate accepted, ending the state investigation.

Date note: The Supreme Court’s 2024 judgment gives the date of the acceptance order as 25 March 2003; the High Court says the report was re-submitted in February.

Closed: the case was officially “undetected” despite named accused.
6 Nov 2002

Police file the first closure report Investigation 2002-04

“A” summary by R.S. BhagoraCourt orders further investigation

What happened: The investigating officer reported the case as true but undetected, saying the culprits could not be found, and sought closure. The court refused and directed the investigation to continue.

Later: Bhagora was among the officers the Bombay High Court convicted in 2017.

First attempt: the court initially said no.
5 Mar 2002

Seven bodies, and a statement that named names Investigation 2002-04

Inquest near the crime scene; Godhra relief campStatement recorded by an Executive Magistrate

The bodies: Police held the inquest on seven bodies, though 14 people had been killed, and two doctors carried out the post-mortems at the spot. Bilkis Bano, who was at the police station, was not taken there.

Her statement: At the Godhra relief camp she described the attack to Collector Jayanti Ravi, and on her instruction an Executive Magistrate recorded a statement naming 12 attackers. She was medically examined at Godhra Civil Hospital on 7 March.

Evidence: this magistrate’s statement later corroborated her testimony.
4 Mar 2002

An FIR that left out the rape and the names Investigation 2002-04

Limkheda police station, DahodC.R. No. 59 of 2002, against unknown persons

What happened: Bilkis Bano reached Limkheda police station with the help of police personnel she met. Head Constable Somabhai Gori recorded her complaint.

What was wrong: The FIR did not record that she had been raped, and stated that she did not know her attackers, although she had named them.

Convicted later: Gori was found guilty in 2008 of recording the FIR incorrectly.
3 Mar 2002

The attack near Pannivel The crime 2002

On a kachha road near Pannivel, Limkheda taluka, DahodBefore sunrise

What happened: A mob of about 25 people arrived in two vehicles and attacked the group. Bilkis Bano, 21 and five months pregnant, was gang-raped. Her mother and her cousin Shamim were gang-raped and killed.

Those killed: Fourteen people were killed, among them her three-and-a-half-year-old daughter Saleha and eight minors in all, including Shamim’s two-day-old baby.

Survival: She lost consciousness, then hid on a hilltop. The next day a local woman gave her clothes.

Identified: she recognised the attackers as men from her own village.
28 Feb 2002

The family flees Randhikpur The crime 2002

Randhikpur (Singwad), Dahod districtRiots spreading across Gujarat

What happened: As houses in Randhikpur were burned and looted, Bilkis Bano left with her daughter and members of her extended family. They moved between villages for several days, sheltering where they could.

On the way: At Kuwajar her cousin Shamim gave birth to a baby girl.

Journey: Chundadi, Kuwajar and onward toward Sarjumi, per the court record.
27 Feb 2002

The Godhra train fire The crime 2002

Godhra, Panchmahal districtSabarmati Express

What happened: A fire on the Sabarmati Express near Godhra station killed 59 people, many of them returning from Ayodhya.

Aftermath: Communal violence spread across Gujarat from 28 February.

Context: the crime against Bilkis Bano’s family came four days later.

The Legal Journey in Four Stages

Each stage was decided by a different court, and each reversed what came before.

The four stages of the Bilkis Bano case: failed investigation, with the case closed as undetected in March 2003; CBI probe and Mumbai trial, ordered by the Supreme Court in December 2003 and August 2004; 11 convictions in January 2008, upheld in May 2017; and remission granted in August 2022 and overturned on 8 January 2024
From a closed file to a Supreme Court reversal.

The Supreme Court intervened three times. In 2003 it took the investigation away from the state police; in 2004 it took the trial away from the state; in 2024 it held that the second of those decisions also took away the state’s power to release the men early. That thread, from the 2004 transfer to the 2024 judgment, is the core of the case’s legal significance.

The First Investigation: What Went Wrong

The Bombay High Court called the earlier investigation “the villain” of the case.

Failures in the Gujarat police investigation of the Bilkis Bano case as found by the Bombay High Court: the FIR of 4 March 2002 omitted the rape and her naming of the attackers; an inquest on only 7 of 14 bodies; post-mortems at the spot; Bilkis Bano was not taken to the scene; the case was closed as undetected in 2003; and when the CBI exhumed the bodies in 2004 no skulls were found
What the courts found about the original police work.
StageWhat happenedWhat the courts said
FIR, 4 Mar 2002Recorded against unknown persons; rape not mentionedHead Constable Gori convicted in 2008 for recording it incorrectly
Inquest, 5 Mar 2002Seven bodies; post-mortems at the spotTwo doctors convicted in 2017 under Sections 201 and 218 IPC
Closure, 2002-03“True but undetected”; accepted in March 2003Set aside when the Supreme Court sent the case to the CBI
Exhumation, 2004No skulls recoveredThe High Court inferred an attempt to prevent identification

Who Was Charged and Who Was Convicted

Twenty accused: twelve attackers, six police personnel, two doctors.

Outcome for the 20 accused in the Bilkis Bano case: 12 men accused of the attack, of whom one died during the trial and 11 were sentenced to life in 2008, upheld in 2017; 6 police personnel, of whom one head constable was convicted in 2008 and died pending appeal and five were convicted by the High Court in 2017; 2 doctors acquitted in 2008 and convicted in 2017
Every accused, and what became of the charge.

Often claimed

  • The trial convicted only the 11 attackers.
  • The 2024 judgment overturned the convictions.
  • Bilkis Bano challenged the release in September 2022.

What the record shows

  • A police officer was convicted in 2008, and seven more officials in 2017.
  • It quashed only the remission orders; the life sentences stand.
  • Her petition was filed in November 2022; PILs came first in August.

The Remission Controversy

Three legal questions: which government, which policy, and whether the orders were valid.

Who said yes and who said no to early release of the Bilkis Bano convicts: the CBI, the Mumbai special court, the Dahod police and the Dahod collector opposed release in 2019 and 2020; the Gujarat High Court twice said Maharashtra must decide; the Supreme Court on 13 May 2022 said Gujarat; the Jail Advisory Committee recommended release on 26 May 2022; the Union Home Ministry approved on 11 July 2022; Gujarat ordered remission on 10 August 2022
The opinions on file before the men were released.

Remission under Section 432 of the CrPC is the government’s power to reduce a sentence; it can bring early release but leaves the conviction intact. The dispute here was over which government held that power. The crime was committed in Gujarat, but the men were tried and sentenced in Maharashtra because the Supreme Court had moved the trial. In May 2022 one bench said Gujarat; in January 2024 another said Maharashtra, relying on Section 432(7) and earlier larger-bench rulings, and held the 2022 order void because the convict who sought it had not disclosed the Gujarat High Court’s contrary orders.

Comparison of remission policies in the Bilkis Bano case: Gujarat's 9 July 1992 policy, applied by Gujarat in 2022, allowed consideration after 14 years; Maharashtra's 11 April 2008 policy, which the Mumbai trial judge said applied, sets a minimum of 28 years for these offences; the Supreme Court held in 2024 that only Maharashtra was the appropriate government
Why the choice of state mattered.

The 8 January 2024 Judgment

Bilkis Yakub Rasool v. Union of India, Justices B.V. Nagarathna and Ujjal Bhuyan.

What the Supreme Court held on 8 January 2024 in Bilkis Yakub Rasool v. Union of India: her petition under Article 32 was maintainable; Gujarat was not the appropriate government, so the remission orders of 10 August 2022 were quashed; the order of 13 May 2022 was a nullity obtained by suppression of facts; Gujarat usurped Maharashtra's power; the unpaid fines were ignored; and the 11 convicts must surrender within two weeks
The five holdings and the order that followed.
Jurisdiction

Wrong government

  • Section 432(7) CrPC.
  • Sentenced in Maharashtra.
  • Gujarat “usurped” its power.
The 2022 order

A nullity

  • Facts suppressed.
  • Misrepresentation to the court.
  • Also per incuriam.
The remedy

Back to prison

  • No Article 142 relief.
  • Surrender in two weeks.
  • Remission only by law.

The Institutional Accountability Question

InstitutionRole in the case
Gujarat PoliceRecorded an incomplete FIR and closed the case; seven officials were later convicted.
CBIReinvestigated from 2004, charged 20, and opposed remission in 2019 and 2021.
Special court, MumbaiConvicted 12 in 2008 and opposed early release.
Bombay High CourtUpheld the life sentences and convicted seven officials in 2017.
Supreme CourtOrdered the CBI probe, moved the trial, awarded compensation, then quashed the remission.
Government of GujaratGranted remission in 2022; the 2024 judgment held it had no power to do so.
Government of IndiaApproved the early release under Section 435 CrPC in July 2022.

Why the Bilkis Bano Case Still Matters

Six lasting lessons

  • Independent investigation: a case closed as undetected produced 19 convictions once the CBI took over.
  • Fair trial: moving the trial out of the state protected the survivor and the witnesses.
  • Accountability of officials: police officers and doctors were convicted for hiding the crime, not only the attackers for committing it.
  • Victims’ rights: the 2019 order measured compensation by the survivor’s actual loss.
  • Limits of executive power: remission must come from the competent government and follow the law.
  • Candour before courts: an order won by suppressing facts can be declared void, even an order of the Supreme Court.

Explore More Timelines

People Also Ask

Did the Supreme Court overturn the convictions in the Bilkis Bano case?
No. The 8 January 2024 judgment quashed only Gujarat's remission orders of 10 August 2022. The convictions and life sentences, confirmed by the Bombay High Court in 2017 and left undisturbed by the Supreme Court, were not touched, and the 11 men returned to prison.
Why was Gujarat not allowed to grant remission?
Section 432(7) of the Code of Criminal Procedure makes the appropriate government the state where the offender is sentenced. The Supreme Court had moved the trial to Mumbai in 2004, so the men were sentenced in Maharashtra, and only Maharashtra could consider remission.
Can the Bilkis Bano convicts still get remission?
Possibly, but only from Maharashtra and only while in prison. The Supreme Court said they could seek remission in accordance with law, and Maharashtra's 2008 policy, which the Mumbai trial judge said applied, sets a minimum of 28 years for these offences. We found no reported decision.
What did the Bombay High Court say about the Gujarat police investigation?
In May 2017 it found the police had taken the investigation in the wrong direction from the day the FIR was recorded, and that it smacked of dishonest steps to shield the culprits. It convicted five police officers and two doctors for destroying evidence and framing incorrect records.

Frequently Asked Questions

Dated facts from the Supreme Court and Bombay High Court judgments.

Who is Bilkis Bano?
Bilkis Yakub Rasool, known as Bilkis Bano, is a survivor of the 2002 Gujarat riots. She was 21 and five months pregnant when she was gang-raped on 3 March 2002, and 14 people with her, including her daughter, were killed.
Where did the attack take place?
On a kachha road near Pannivel in Limkheda taluka of Dahod district, Gujarat. The family had fled their village of Randhikpur on 28 February 2002 as violence spread.
How many people were killed?
Fourteen, according to the courts, including Bilkis Bano's three-and-a-half-year-old daughter Saleha, her mother and her cousin Shamim. Eight of those killed were minors, among them Shamim's two-day-old baby.
How many bodies were found?
Police held an inquest on seven bodies on 5 March 2002. When the CBI exhumed the remains in January and February 2004, no skulls were found, which the High Court said suggested the attackers did not want the dead identified.
What was wrong with the FIR?
Recorded on 4 March 2002 at Limkheda police station by Head Constable Somabhai Gori, it omitted the rape and stated that she did not know her attackers, although she had named them. Gori was convicted in 2008 for recording it incorrectly.
Who recorded her statement naming the accused?
An Executive Magistrate at the Godhra relief camp, on the instruction of District Collector Jayanti Ravi, on 5 March 2002. The courts relied on it to corroborate her evidence.
When did the police try to close the case?
On 6 November 2002 the police filed an 'A' summary saying the case was true but undetected. The court refused. A fresh closure report filed in February 2003 was accepted, by an order the Supreme Court dates to 25 March 2003.
When was the CBI brought in?
The Supreme Court transferred the investigation to the CBI in December 2003; the Bombay High Court's judgment records the date as 16 December 2003. CBI officer K.N. Sinha took charge on 1 January 2004.
Who did the CBI charge?
Twenty people, in a charge-sheet of 19 April 2004: 12 men accused of the attack, six police personnel and two government doctors who conducted the post-mortems.
Why was the trial moved to Mumbai?
Bilkis Bano said she feared for her safety and a fair trial in Gujarat. On 6 August 2004 the Supreme Court transferred the case to a competent court in Mumbai.
When was the verdict delivered?
On 21 January 2008. A special court in Greater Mumbai convicted 11 men of gang rape and murder and sentenced them to life, convicted one police officer for the false FIR, and acquitted five police officers and two doctors.
Why were there 11 convicts and not 12?
Twelve men were accused of the attack, but accused number 3, Naresh Modhiya, died during the trial.
Who heard the appeals in the Bombay High Court?
Justices V.K. Tahilramani and Mridula Bhatkar, who delivered judgment on 4 May 2017 in Jaswantbhai Chaturbhai Nai v. State of Gujarat.
Did the CBI seek the death penalty?
Yes, for three of the convicts. The High Court dismissed that appeal, holding that the case did not fall in the rarest of rare category, and confirmed the life sentences.
Which officials were convicted by the High Court?
Five police officers and the two doctors whose acquittals it set aside, under Sections 201 and 218 of the IPC. They were sentenced to the period already served and fined. Head Constable Somabhai Gori had died while his appeal was pending.
What did the Supreme Court do in July 2017?
On 10 July 2017 it dismissed special leave petitions against the High Court judgment, and dismissed another on 20 November 2017, so the convictions became final.
How much compensation was Bilkis Bano awarded?
Rs 50 lakh, ordered by the Supreme Court on 23 April 2019 and payable by Gujarat within two weeks, along with a government job and government accommodation of her choice if she wanted them.
What happened to the convicted police officers' careers?
Gujarat told the Supreme Court in April 2019 that one officer's dismissal had been upheld, three retired officers had lost their entire pension, and a two-stage demotion had been recommended for IPS officer R.S. Bhagora.
What is remission?
A reduction of a prisoner's sentence by the government under Section 432 of the CrPC. It can lead to early release but does not set aside the conviction.
Who started the remission process?
Convict Radheshyam Shah. In 2019 the Gujarat High Court told him to apply to Maharashtra, and he did on 1 August 2019. The CBI, the Mumbai trial court and Dahod police all opposed his release.
What did the Supreme Court decide on 13 May 2022?
A bench of Justices Ajay Rastogi and Vikram Nath held that Gujarat was the appropriate government and directed it to decide Shah's plea within two months under its 1992 policy. In 2024 another bench held that order a nullity.
Which policy did Gujarat apply?
Its premature-release policy of 9 July 1992, under which life convicts who had served 14 years could be considered. The 2024 judgment held this policy did not apply because Gujarat was not the appropriate government.
Did the Centre approve the release?
Yes. The Union Home Ministry conveyed its approval under Section 435 of the CrPC on 11 July 2022, after Gujarat sought it on 28 June 2022, because the case had been investigated by the CBI.
When were the remission orders issued and the men released?
Gujarat issued the orders on 10 August 2022, and the 11 men walked out of Godhra sub-jail on 15 August 2022.
Who challenged the release?
Public interest petitioners first, starting in August 2022 with Subhashini Ali, Revati Laul and Roop Rekha Verma, then Mahua Moitra, NFIW and others. Bilkis Bano filed her own petition in November 2022.
Was Bilkis Bano's review petition dismissed?
Yes, on 13 December 2022. The bench that had decided the May 2022 case dismissed her petition to review it. Her separate writ petition against the remission orders continued and succeeded.
Who decided the 2024 case?
Justices B.V. Nagarathna and Ujjal Bhuyan, who reserved judgment on 12 October 2023 after 11 days of hearings and delivered it on 8 January 2024. Justice Nagarathna wrote the judgment.
What did the court say about the May 2022 order?
That it was obtained by suppressing material facts and misrepresentation, including the Gujarat High Court's rulings that Maharashtra was the appropriate government, and was therefore a nullity, as well as per incuriam.
What else was wrong with the remission orders?
The court found they ignored the opinion of the Mumbai trial judge, relied on a Dahod sessions judge's opinion that had no legal standing, and overlooked that the men had not paid their fines.
When did the convicts return to prison?
All 11 surrendered at the Godhra sub-jail on the night of 21 January 2024, after the Supreme Court refused on 19 January to give them more time.
Did Gujarat seek a review of the 2024 judgment?
Yes. Gujarat objected among other things to the finding that it had acted in tandem and was complicit with the convict. The Supreme Court dismissed its review petition in chambers on 26 September 2024.
Did the convicts challenge the 2024 judgment?
Two of them, Radheshyam Shah and Rajubhai Soni, filed a writ petition against it. On 19 July 2024 the court called it absolutely misconceived, and it was dismissed as withdrawn.

⚠️ Editorial Note

This account is based on the Supreme Court’s judgment of 8 January 2024 in Bilkis Yakub Rasool v. Union of India, the Bombay High Court’s judgment of 4 May 2017 in Jaswantbhai Chaturbhai Nai v. State of Gujarat, and Supreme Court orders of 23 October 2017, 29 March 2019, 23 April 2019 and 26 September 2024. Later events come from PTI, The Tribune and Verdictum reports. Checking the brief this page started from against those records: the closure report was re-filed in February 2003 but accepted by an order of 25 March 2003; the High Court records the CBI transfer as 16 December 2003, not 6 December; the exhumation ran from 28 January to 1 February 2004; and Bilkis Bano’s own petition against the remission was filed in November 2022, after public interest petitions in August, not in September. We have not named the survivor’s surviving family members or described the crime beyond what the judgments record. This is not legal advice.

Related Reading on AiTimeline

Vijay Mallya: Rise, Fall and the Extradition Saga, 1983-2026 Tariff Walls and Trade Bridges: The Hidden Forces Reshaping Global Trade
New article
→
Next Article